1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Overclocking ATI Radeon 9800 PRO Questions..

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by .Kai, Sep 22, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. .Kai

.Kai Thread Starter

Just got a ATI Radeon 9800 PRO 128MB :rolleyes: I was wondering how would I overclock it so it would be like an ATI Radeon 9800xt "safely" :D

PS:Overclocking is a new thing to me I have never done before. Just heard that 9800 pro can be overclocked to an 9800xt easily "safely to" :eek: .

2. Skivvywaver

Skivvywaver

I use a couple of different tools. First you need ati tool http://downloads.guru3d.com/download.php?det=725

The you need radclocker http://www28.brinkster.com/chrisww1942/download.htm

The programs are pretty self explanatory. Use radclocker or radlinker to set your clocks up to XT speeds. 412 on the core and 365 on the memory.
    Then run ATI tool and have it scan for artifacts. You don't want any at all ever. If you don't get artifacts at xt speeds use radclocker on bootup to set your clocks. You will see the button at the bottom of radclocker to set boot to current.
    You are done unless you want to edit the bios which I did for no apparent reason.
    Ati tool will also boot to XT speeds but ATI tool uses system resources to do it. Radclocker doesn't. Good Luck.

3. Skivvywaver

Skivvywaver

And don't go overboard. Your card is going to be able to run faster than the speeds I quoted most likely. Don't do it. You will kill it.

4. .Kai

.Kai Thread Starter

So, SAFE is 412 core and 318 memory right?

5. Skivvywaver

Skivvywaver

It should be. If you have ATI tool you can let it find max core and max memory and then back down 25-30 mhz on each side.