Overclocking Audio problem

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

InsaneCookies

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 28, 2018
Messages
16
So i overclocked my gpu the other day and this morning i have been getting weird buzzing audio and also some flickers in the map while im playing fortnite. How do i fix this? i really hope i didnt screw up my computer
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2018
Messages
11
Firstly tell me, Is your audio through the MB drivers or via GPU ones.
You have two variables. Try changing one back to stock and then flip it (OC-GPU + CPU stock, then OC-CPU + GPU stock).
 

InsaneCookies

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 28, 2018
Messages
16
idk the buzzing is coming through my audio (speakers/earbuds) idk which driver it is and idk how to flip a stock
 

managed

Allan
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
14,294
Remove all overclocking (if you haven't already done so) and see if the buzzing and flickering stops.
 

InsaneCookies

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 28, 2018
Messages
16
Removed the overclocking yesterday and the buzzing and flickering still there. Hopefully i didnt damage my pc since the motherboard is not neccesarily a GAMING motherboard
 

managed

Allan
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
14,294
You may have damaged the Graphics card. How are the speakers connected to the PC ?
 

InsaneCookies

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 28, 2018
Messages
16
are you serious oh man they said it was extremely safe the speakers are connected with the green audio port
 

InsaneCookies

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 28, 2018
Messages
16
it doesnt happen all the time only when im like stresstesting or like high settings on a game like fortnite
 

InsaneCookies

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 28, 2018
Messages
16
Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.4
OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Professional, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-4460 CPU @ 3.20GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 60 Stepping 3
Processor Count: 4
RAM: 16306 Mb
Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 6GB, -1 Mb
Hard Drives: C: 907 GB (116 GB Free); Y: 24 GB (13 GB Free);
Motherboard: ECS, B85H3-M
Antivirus: AVG Antivirus, Enabled and Updated
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
42,048
are you serious oh man they said it was extremely safe the speakers are connected with the green audio port
There is NO safe overclock. ALL overclocking entails some degree of risk. I have a rule; do not overclock with parts you cannot afford to replace. As long as you understand that concept, overclocking is fine. I overclock everything except my home theater system however IF something fries, there is no one to blame except me.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
42,048
If your speakers are connected using the green port on the motherboard, you are not using the video card audio. Your overclock may have had nothing to do with the problem. Have you tested temps and voltages? If not, do so; specifically the cpu temp, 12V, 5V, and 3.3V values. Unfortunately there is no monitoring software on the support page for your motherboard. ECS is not a quality board maker such as asus, gigabyte, or asrock [they have monitoring software for download] You can try using hwinfo64 [free download]

As a very quick test to see if the problem is your motherboard or software/driver, boot the system with a linux live usb. If the audio works fine under linux, then your motherboard is most likely ok. If you have the same problem under linux, you fried the motherboard audio. There are a LOT of linux distros to choose from however I would use either linux Mint or ubuntu. Either one will setup all of your hardware for you. Note linux live does not make any changes to your hard drive; it runs from ram.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
42,048
Your temps are ok however it does not show the 12V rail. Try using hwinfo64
https://www.hwinfo.com/download.php
Your motherboard is not a performance board so you may not be able to monitor your voltages however try hwinfo64. Once you install, open the program and click on monitoring>sensor status. Scroll down to where you see the 12V [should be under motherboard] Take a screenshot and post here; not on a third party site. Most people do not like to click on unknown links. Here is an example of what you should see;
 

Attachments

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top