overclocking?burn cpu! burn!!!!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

piscian18

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 27, 2002
Messages
44
i wanna try overclocking my p2mmx what's the best multiplier speed to use without making a really neat looking board/cpu sculpture heh!
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2001
Messages
968
Hi --

On that one, you might do better by adjusting the FSB. I have a 233 @ 281 right now. It's been this way over a year and no heat problems and very stable.

Good luck.

Spaceman
 
Joined
May 26, 2001
Messages
7,530
Actually the multiplier is locked on Intels to prevent people from overclocking so that you go out and buy a new chip. Hopefully Brian or somebody good with OC'ing will post because I think they have charts or at least links to charts with good FSB speeds to use with what chip and what are typical OC speeds for certian chips. I know I had a link to one of those sites but I'm not even going to try looking through my favorites because that is just useless... sorry. :rolleyes:
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2001
Messages
968
FSB- Front Side Bus

The frequency on yours is probably 66mhz with a 440 BX chipset.

You may be able to change it in the BIOS, but I doubt it. Therefore, you have to change it on the motherboard. Do you have the manual?

Spaceman
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2003
Messages
255
Originally posted by piscian18:
i wanna try overclocking my p2mmx what's the best multiplier speed to use without making a really neat looking board/cpu sculpture heh!
I too have a PIIMMX. I really want also to overclock the fsb, but don't know how :(
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2003
Messages
312
Hi, I'm a new member here, but egger to learn from any of you pro's out there...
I've recently o'clocked our Win98 Clone PII 350MHz 224mbs SDRAM machine. It's comfortably running at 434 MHz, I've added (2) 3 inch fans into the side of the case for added circulation and (2) 2 inch fans on the processor. I'd like to boost it higher, but it just won't go...
I recently found the install book for my MB, it's a SPACEWALKER Shuttle HOT - 661/P. In the book I've noticed that there's jumpers on the MainBoard, my question: Do I setup the jumpers first, then go into the onscreen Chipset Features, or what? Can anyone offer any help?
 

piscian18

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 27, 2002
Messages
44
hey thanx all
this is kinda ironic my a+ book happened to ave an example digram of a p2 with the cpu and fsb slots
i reconfigured it with 4.5 multipler and 103mhz bus =448 cpu speed
as not to fry this thing is that gonna be ok?
i ran it for a couple hours and its ok so far
 

piscian18

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 27, 2002
Messages
44
sorry "jumpers" not "slots" don't wanna confuse anyone

on your board you should have one set of 3 jumpers and one of 4 one below the southbridge and one near your ram and n.bridge

should look like this if not ignore me
I III
II I

now make them look like this

I I I
I I II

please don't do this if you are not prepared to store an atx form factor paperwait near your destop
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top