1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

overclocking?burn cpu! burn!!!!

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by piscian18, Jan 16, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. piscian18

    piscian18 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2002
    Messages:
    44
    i wanna try overclocking my p2mmx what's the best multiplier speed to use without making a really neat looking board/cpu sculpture heh!
     
  2. spaceman_333

    spaceman_333

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2001
    Messages:
    968
    Hi --

    On that one, you might do better by adjusting the FSB. I have a 233 @ 281 right now. It's been this way over a year and no heat problems and very stable.

    Good luck.

    Spaceman
     
  3. deuce

    deuce

    Joined:
    May 26, 2001
    Messages:
    7,530
    Actually the multiplier is locked on Intels to prevent people from overclocking so that you go out and buy a new chip. Hopefully Brian or somebody good with OC'ing will post because I think they have charts or at least links to charts with good FSB speeds to use with what chip and what are typical OC speeds for certian chips. I know I had a link to one of those sites but I'm not even going to try looking through my favorites because that is just useless... sorry. :rolleyes:
     
  4. piscian18

    piscian18 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2002
    Messages:
    44
    being as i'm flunking a+
    i don't know fsb
    it's cmos or onboard jumper
     
  5. spaceman_333

    spaceman_333

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2001
    Messages:
    968
    FSB- Front Side Bus

    The frequency on yours is probably 66mhz with a 440 BX chipset.

    You may be able to change it in the BIOS, but I doubt it. Therefore, you have to change it on the motherboard. Do you have the manual?

    Spaceman
     
  6. antares

    antares

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2003
    Messages:
    255
    I too have a PIIMMX. I really want also to overclock the fsb, but don't know how :(
     
  7. Wogster

    Wogster

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    312
    Hi, I'm a new member here, but egger to learn from any of you pro's out there...
    I've recently o'clocked our Win98 Clone PII 350MHz 224mbs SDRAM machine. It's comfortably running at 434 MHz, I've added (2) 3 inch fans into the side of the case for added circulation and (2) 2 inch fans on the processor. I'd like to boost it higher, but it just won't go...
    I recently found the install book for my MB, it's a SPACEWALKER Shuttle HOT - 661/P. In the book I've noticed that there's jumpers on the MainBoard, my question: Do I setup the jumpers first, then go into the onscreen Chipset Features, or what? Can anyone offer any help?
     
  8. piscian18

    piscian18 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2002
    Messages:
    44
    hey thanx all
    this is kinda ironic my a+ book happened to ave an example digram of a p2 with the cpu and fsb slots
    i reconfigured it with 4.5 multipler and 103mhz bus =448 cpu speed
    as not to fry this thing is that gonna be ok?
    i ran it for a couple hours and its ok so far
     
  9. piscian18

    piscian18 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2002
    Messages:
    44
    sorry "jumpers" not "slots" don't wanna confuse anyone

    on your board you should have one set of 3 jumpers and one of 4 one below the southbridge and one near your ram and n.bridge

    should look like this if not ignore me
    I III
    II I

    now make them look like this

    I I I
    I I II

    please don't do this if you are not prepared to store an atx form factor paperwait near your destop
     
  10. piscian18

    piscian18 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2002
    Messages:
    44
    ignore that just look up the spec on your board
    argh
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/113496

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice