1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

overclocking celeron633

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by HAU2003, Sep 18, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. HAU2003

    HAU2003 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    cant find detailed instructions any where on how to raise the bus speed of a celeron 633, or any other things to do to overclock. the places i found tell what improvements they made but i dont know a huge amount about the electronic aspec of this im more of a programmer. so maybe someone can tell me how exactly to do them. SOMEBODY PLEASE HELP!!!!
     
  2. active95

    active95

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,276
    What you need is to find out if you can increase the FRONT SPEED BUS in the BIOS . The FRONT SPEED BUS ( FSB ) will let you overlclock the cpu.
    For more instructions , will need name and model of the mobo that you have.
    HTH
     
  3. HAU2003

    HAU2003 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    cant change it in the bios no option to ony front bus support wich was not enabled but now is.how do i find out the model of mobo its a factory build comp hp pavilion 6535.
     
  4. HAU2003

    HAU2003 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    sorry only option to add front bus support and now i enabled that.
     
  5. active95

    active95

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,276
    Now all you need to do is to increase it , in small steps, and try it out.
    I.E... right now the front side bus should be at 66 Mhz. What you need to is to make it 70 Mhz ( change it in BIOS ) , save the settings ( BIOS wise ) and restart. Try and boot in windows and see if you encounter any problems ( i.e , freezes, reboots out of the blue, crashes..). If no problems , then restart get into BIOS again and change the front side bus to 75 Mhz and again try windows. Still not a problem , go ahead and try 83 Mhz. Still not problems, great.
    Now if your BIOS support it , might wanna try 100 Mhz Front Side bus. BUT, to be able to get it will need RAM which will support 100 Mhz. So if your current RAM only supports 66 Mhz, then 100 Mhz , probably will be out of reach.
    Another way to try and overclock is by using H.ODA SoftFSB program ( available here http://www.geocities.com/enigmadeadsouls/softfsb.html ) download version 1.7 ( as far as i know, there should be a version 2 but not quite sure ) which is the last version. Just be aware that it can mess up windows , so like usual, before doing anything backup your data.
    HTH
     
  6. McTimson

    McTimson

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    Messages:
    5,577
    Well there's your problem...you won't be able to overclock much on a factory built machine (HP, Dell, Compaq, etc.), you would have to buy a new motherboard if you really wanted to overclock it, but doing so would probably negate the point of overclocking it...
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/165840

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice