1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Overclocking help for AMD Phenom II x2 555BE

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by GamerBlackAcid, Aug 6, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. GamerBlackAcid

    GamerBlackAcid Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2019
    Messages:
    98
    I have an system with these specs:
    CPU: AMD Phenom II x2 555BE (Unlocked to 4 Cores)
    CPU Cooler: AMD Stock Cooler (planning to upgrade to ANTEC Kuhler K120 water cooling)
    RAM: 10.0 GB
    HDD: 1TB Hitachi Deskstar 7.2k RPM
    PSU: iBall LPE-223 400 (400 watts) (planning to upgrade to Thermaltake 500W PSU)
    MOTHERBOARD: BIOSTAR T-Series TA880GB+

    So... i want to overclock my CPU (AMD Phenom II x2 555 Unlocked to 4 cores) to as high as possible. So, i started changing the CPU Clock Speed from 3.2GHz to 3.4GHz. I increased the core voltage to 1.7 or something close. I started to start the PC and it was stable. I played some CPU based games and it worked well. So, I went back to BIOS, and then increased core clock to 3.6GHz and Core voltage to 1.75 or near and then it started crashing. Not the windows, the BIOS itself is Crashing. It was showing the AMERICAN MEGATRENDS screen. But, in a wierd way. The logo parts were all over the place. Then, it crashed 2 more times and i cleared the CMOS. It was back and i decided to revert the settings to 3.4GHz and 1.7v. Can anyone say the solution or the part which is causing the issue? My doubt is towards the PSU and the max voltage.
     
  2. GamerBlackAcid

    GamerBlackAcid Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2019
    Messages:
    98
    If possible, please tell me what are the high settings for my CPU.
     
  3. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    113,569
    Sorry but it's already been determined in another thread that your operating system is not running genuine Windows so no help will be forthcoming until you make it genuine.

    Have you reinstalled Windows and purchase a valid key?
     
  4. GamerBlackAcid

    GamerBlackAcid Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2019
    Messages:
    98
    I didn't reinstall it but changed the product key to original and genuine. Please help me with this thread.
     
  5. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    113,569
    Please open an Elevated Command Prompt window (on the Start screen, type "Command" - a Command Prompt icon will appear, right-click on it and select Run as Administrator) then at the prompt, type the following (be sure to include the spaces):

    Licensingdiag.exe -report %userprofile%\desktop\report.txt -log %userprofile%\desktop\repfiles.cab

    After running the command, two files will appear on your desktop, report.txt and repfiles.cab. Please open the report.txt file in Notepad and copy and paste the contents here. The repfiles.cab is only a backup file and can be ignored for the time being.
     
  6. GamerBlackAcid

    GamerBlackAcid Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2019
    Messages:
    98
    Alright. It's very late right now so I will upload it later.
     
  7. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    113,569
  8. GamerBlackAcid

    GamerBlackAcid Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2019
    Messages:
    98
    Sorry for the late reply. Hope you don't mind. Here are the files. Only the TXT is attachable right now. The cab file's link is here on Google Drive. Just one thing... plz don't remove this link too.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,968
    If the admin says is is a legal install, then we can attempt to OC. Do understand that there is NO safe overclock. All overclocking entails some degree of risk. I have a saying; "Do not overclock with parts you cannot afford to replace"
    As long as you are comfortable with the above, we can attempt to OC the system however do not expect miracles; that is an old processor that was low to mid range when it was released 10yr ago.
     
  10. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    113,569
    Nothing has changed since the last time we verified your system. It's still running Windows 10 Enterprise with a KMS Volume license which is not available to the end user. There is no valid key for Windows 10 Enterprise for personal use. You would have to change to a different version of Windows with a valid key.

    The current installation remains a violation of the licensing agreement therefore it's considered not genuine.
     
  11. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,645
    First Name:
    Frank
    Capture.JPG

    Besides that processor being very old technology(which crjdriver already advised you), it has a very low performance score for gaming.
    Even if you're successful in overclocking it, it's not going to be sufficient to improve gaming quality.

    I'll leave you with Cookiegal.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------
     
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2019
  12. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    113,569
    It's already been dealt with Frank. The system is not genuine.
     
  13. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,645
    First Name:
    Frank
    Just giving my "2 cents worth" about the processor.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
     
  14. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    113,569
    I'm going to close this as we cannot provide an assistance with this system.
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1231094

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice