1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Overclocking Help!

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Zero2Infinit, Feb 12, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Zero2Infinit

    Zero2Infinit Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    62
    Does anyone here know how to overclock video cards? Is there a program I can use? I want to overclock my (Xtasy 9200 PCI 256MB ATI RADEON) because I just want more performance from it...with it being PCI and all. This card sounds pretty decent and it is...but sometimes I'm only getting 30 fps and that makes me kinda mad. So I just wanted to see if I could overclock it. Can anyone help?
     
  2. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,373
    A 9200 is not really a gaming card. Here is a link to download radclocker. It is an app used for overclocking video cards.Radclocker

    Now do understand that overclocking can damage your video card. If you do decide to do this, make sure you can afford to loose the parts you are overclocking.
     
  3. Topato

    Topato

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    243
    30 fps is good. That's the fastest the eye can see. I think that the newer catalyst drivers block overcloacking so you'll need to install the omega drivers ( http://www.omegadrivers.net/ ) to unlock the card.
     
  4. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,888
    First Name:
    Rob
    ATiTool can help you determine the maximum core and memory speeds: http://www.techpowerup.com/atitool/

    Then use the Omegadrivers with the provided RADLinker to set the set the speeds and tweak the settings.

    As mentioned a 9200SE is not a gaming card and being a PCI version just slows it down even more.
     
  5. Zero2Infinit

    Zero2Infinit Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    62
    Well mines not the SE its just the 9200
     
  6. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,373
    The 9200 is a general purpose card. It does a fine job running office apps, e-mail, etc. It does not do well when you want to play doom3 at high settings.

    Really getting 30fps in a modern game with that card is pretty good. Overclocking it is not going to get you much more performance.

    If you want high fps and run games at max res, etc; you will need to get something like a 9600XT or 9800. Both of those are priced reasonably now. The 9800pro and XT are even getting pretty affordable.
     
  7. CarlssonMB

    CarlssonMB

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    809
    If you need a cheap card, the 9250 isnt bad for most games
     
  8. Skivvywaver

    Skivvywaver

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2001
    Messages:
    13,947
    I think my first radeon was like a 7500. It was a few years ago so I might be wrong. I was amazed with the card. It was great compared to the Vanta I replaced with it. It was only 4x AGP and only a 128 bit 128 meg card but back then it screamed.

    I loaded that bad boy up with drivers B.C. (before catalyst) and gamed my rear off. I would love to have that card to just plug in now and see how bad it really would be. :)

    Do like Triple6 said and go to www.omegadrivers.net and get some omegas for that card. You should see some improvement. I am running the new Omegas on my 9800 pro. This is the first set of Omega drivers I ever had that I liked. The images are just as good and the performance boost is real with this set. They are based on the Cat 5.1 driver. I can never get Omegas numbering system down.
     
  9. Zero2Infinit

    Zero2Infinit Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    62
    Does it matter what omega for my ATI Card that I get?
     
  10. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,888
    First Name:
    Rob
    The latest is the best.
     
  11. Zero2Infinit

    Zero2Infinit Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    62
    Wow... now I have a BIG Problem! when I went to run the setup for the omega thing....it told me the hardware may not be supported so it recommended me to stop the installation cause it said it could cause faliure to that part...so i clicked sotp and then it proceeded through! and i couldn't stop it. So now I tried putting the installation disc back in and tried reinstalling...and it wont do anything.... :( I am very sad :( I hope I didnt fry the chip :(
     
  12. Skivvywaver

    Skivvywaver

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2001
    Messages:
    13,947
    Do a system restore back to the point before you installed the omegas. There should even be one that says installed unsupported driver.
     
  13. Zero2Infinit

    Zero2Infinit Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    62
    Whew! Wow that was scarry false alarm. the new hardware wizard came up because I re-installed my video card. So now it works. Wow that scarred the poop outta me. Ya maybe I will just wait to get a new video card lol. But I'll stick with mine right now until I get enough money.
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/329869

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice