1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Overclocking how to?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by rylenf, Mar 11, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. rylenf

    rylenf Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    30
    I need to speed up my 1995 100mhz pentium processor,
    is it possible?
    Do i change settings in bios or is there software required.


    thnx for input rylenf
     
  2. n2gun

    n2gun

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2000
    Messages:
    4,168
  3. rylenf

    rylenf Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    30
    That website didnt give me any info on my computer
    any other suggestions, from anyone?

    thnx
     
  4. JSanguancheu

    JSanguancheu

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,824
    This article may help shed some light.

    ReadMe

    Not sure if its really worth the effort for a pentium 100 though. But if it's just for fun, why not..

    good luck.
     
  5. rylenf

    rylenf Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    30
    No i definately need a new pc,
    may get one from memory express here in calgary
    for $436 canadian, a nice one two
    P4 2.4ghz
    256mb ram
    ethernet card
    80gb hard drive

    But i still wanna give this old one a shot and see what it can do!
     
  6. Whitestar

    Whitestar

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2003
    Messages:
    511
    Usually on systems that old there is a group of jumpers on the motherboard that change the clock rate of the processor depending on how they are set.

    If you can find a manual for the motherboard (although it being that old i doubt you will find one) you can see if there is anything like that.
     
  7. rylenf

    rylenf Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    30
    Thnx Jsanguancheu,

    That article actually had my processor in its listing,
    and it suggests changing the clock multiplier from 1.0 to 2.0
    and if i remember correctly i believe i can do that in bios on startup.

    rylenf
     
  8. JSanguancheu

    JSanguancheu

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,824
    You're welcome.

    66x2.0 or 60x2.0

    Google is a wonderful thing when used correctly. :)

    Have fun.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/210996

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice