1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

?Overclocking MAX?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by jasonrosegiese, Jan 3, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jasonrosegiese

    jasonrosegiese Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2001
    Messages:
    195
    I was just wandering how far I could overclock my Celeron 366.

    I have it at 458 with a 83MHz fsb.
    How much further could I go with a good fan??
     
  2. brianF

    brianF

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1999
    Messages:
    12,041
    Mine runs at 550 @ 100mhz front side bus. Using pc100 or better memory, if you have 66mhz memory it's not going to take it.

    socket 370, not slot 1. Slot 1's don't overclock as well due to heat issues with the cartiridge type packaging.

    You can get some info here http://www.overclockers.com/ in the cpu database. Keeps a database of different processors and overclocking results along with comments about setups, etc.
     
  3. jasonrosegiese

    jasonrosegiese Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2001
    Messages:
    195
    It's a Celeron, so it doesn't have the case, and I have a golden orb fan/heatsink on it, so at 458MHz, the cpu stays cold to the touch. I Have pc100 ram, so that shouldn't be a problem. If the cpu will handle it, my board will take it to 550, 565, or 616. I'm just not sure what the cpu can handle.
     
  4. jasonrosegiese

    jasonrosegiese Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2001
    Messages:
    195
    I checked out that site. With my fan, I should be able to kick it all the way up to 616 with the fsb at 112. I ran my p2 at 112, and the ram and bpoard had no problems, so I'm gonna shut her down and go for it.

    Thanx Brian
     
  5. deuce

    deuce

    Joined:
    May 26, 2001
    Messages:
    7,530
    112? Wow. I didn't know they were stable over 100.
     
  6. jasonrosegiese

    jasonrosegiese Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2001
    Messages:
    195
    Yep my p2 450 ran at 504 with the fsb at 112 very stable with no problems. I couldn't get it to post at 133, but the pc100 ram might have been stopping me.

    I just tried to put my celeron at 100 fsb, but got no post. any ideas.
    Everything I've read says to cover the b21 pin so the mb doesn't detect it at 66.
    Maybe I should take it out and try recovering the pin, maybe the fingernail polish got scratch off when I put it back in
     
  7. deuce

    deuce

    Joined:
    May 26, 2001
    Messages:
    7,530
    I see you have found a home. Where's your custom avatar? :) I think that might be it, if you need to cover that one. In that case I would suspect that it is hard to keep the polish on since it will rub off when you slide the thing over and lock down the pins.
     
  8. brianF

    brianF

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1999
    Messages:
    12,041
    If you kick it to 100 you also need to change the pci ratio to 1/3 from 1/2 and the agp ratio from 1/1 to 2/3.

    Overclocking the front side bus also overclocks the pci and agp bus

    Most video cards won't run at a 100 front side bus setting with agp ration at 1/1.

    Agp is meant to run at 66mhz and pci at 33mhz.

    You may also need to bump up the vcore on the processor in .1 increments to get it to post.

    Don't compare a p2 100 at 112 to a celeron going from 66 to 100, a big difference in the amount of overclock

    Just for your info, celeron processors where sold both ways, ppga package and slot 1 cartridge, that's why I mentioned it.
     
  9. hamster

    hamster Guest

    What the hell? I thought this was about Max from Dark Angel... Wow.. hot!!! I thought this wasabout Random Discussions, hee hee... isn't the computer questions on the Third Floor???


    <IMG SRC="http://forums.techguy.org/attachment.php?postid=314252">
    I'll clock her anytime!!
     

    Attached Files:

  10. jasonrosegiese

    jasonrosegiese Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2001
    Messages:
    195
    If the boards meant to run at 100 fsb, wont it automatically change the pci and agp ratio?? When I run my p2, I dont have to adjust them.
     
  11. brianF

    brianF

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1999
    Messages:
    12,041
    No, it picks it up from the chip microcode, it has to be manually set.
    Some motherboards don't allow this along with changing vcore voltage manually
     
  12. deuce

    deuce

    Joined:
    May 26, 2001
    Messages:
    7,530
    If you are using a jumper-free board... do you need to manually change the agp and pci bus ratio? I have an asus I am putting together for somebody and I think the fsb is shipped at 133... or does the jumper-free set it automatically? I have never worked with jumper-free boards before so I am not sure about what to do. I am putting in a 900 mhz celeron so I need a 100 fsb.
     
  13. brianF

    brianF

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1999
    Messages:
    12,041
    In jumper free mode, as long as the bios are updated to the correct microcode, the processor will automatically configure.
    You will need to enter bios and check to make sure it set it properly as far as speed and voltage, but generally they do.
    Never worked with asus boards, will be next week, bought an older cuv4x for the kid to build a server with.
    If it doesn't set it properly it will generally boot up with the default settings and you can change them in the bios.
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/63977

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice