Overclocking my Phenom II more.

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

fang508

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 1, 2011
Messages
185
My specs are:

AM3 Phenom II 805 x4 2.5Ghz 4mb L3
2x 4gb DDR3 Corsair 1333Mhz
2x 2gb DDR3 Samsung 1333Mhz

Stock clocks and voltages:

200Mhz FSB
2000Mhz HT and NB
1.32v CPU
1.5v RAM
1.2v CPU-NB

Currently I am running stable:

FSB @ 280Mhz,
HT Link & NB @ 2240Mhz, & CPU-NB @ 1.25v
CPU @ 3.50Ghz @ 1.42v (AMD's Safe Maximum) & 2Mb of cache unlocked
RAM @ 1120Mhz @ 8,8,8,20,30 timings @ 1.6v @ 1:2 ratio

Because this is not a black edition chip, the multi will not go higher than 12.5x (default). It can be lowered however, not that it helps.

Is there anything I can do to squeeze a little more out of my setup?
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
41,357
I would say you have done pretty well getting to 3.5gig. I assume this is prime95 or OCCT stable.
Most likely the only way you are going to be able to get any more out of the cpu is to run some type of water cooling and up the vcore to 1.45~1.47V or so. Again I think I would be happy with what you have already achieved.
 

fang508

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 1, 2011
Messages
185
Interesting story..

I tried for 3.60ghz @ 288 FSB

So I bumped the vcore to 1.45v, p95 bsod in about 3 mins, then bumped it to 1.47v and bsod 7~ minutes, then bumped to v1.5 and it bsod in about 15 mins.

Then I did IBT and it bsod with a memory code. So I took out one of the samsung sticks. All cores failed in P95 within 2 mins but no bsod.

Any ideas? Ima go back to my original OC now.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
41,357
As I said previously I think you have gotten all you are going to get out of that system. You have achieved approx a 37% overclock; that is very good.
 

fang508

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 1, 2011
Messages
185
Yeah, I have given up trying to push it anymore. I am happy with a 1ghz OC, but ofcourse who wouldn't want more?lol
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top