Overclocking to 6GHz

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

SpiDoL

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 8, 2007
Messages
39
I have:

AMD Sempron Processor 2600+, ~1.6GHz
1024MB RAM
NVIDIA GeForce 6600
Realtek AC97 Audio

How can I overclock this to 6GHz? Or do I have to buy a new processor?
 

Frank4d

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Sep 10, 2006
Messages
9,126
I think there is a thread somewhere here about boiling the CPU to make it faster. I remember it didn't work though.
 
Joined
Oct 11, 2006
Messages
5,855
I don't think anyone has a 5Ghz overclocked cpu, much less 6ghz available on the consumer market...

If you have a NAME brand system (HPAQ, gateway) - there are NO OC options. Otherwise, you can OC the bus a bit and maybe hit 1.8ghz or so before the system become unstable.

What KIND of system do you have? Motherboard or name brand - if its a 939 or AM2 socket CPU - (There is a free program that can tell you) you can pop in a dual-core AMD64 CPU up to 2.8Ghz.
 
Joined
Oct 11, 2006
Messages
5,855
k8N what... there are about 20 versions of the K8N. What KIND of CPU do you have, socket 754, 939 or AM2? Did you build this? But I'm guessing its 754 or 939... If its 754 - there are almost no options. $80 for an AMD64-3200(754) or $250 for a AMD64 X2 4800 (939).

What does the ASUS manual say?
 
Joined
Oct 11, 2006
Messages
5,855
We're not trying to be jerks. You asked how to OC your CPU - but you were way off anything possible and asked about upgrade. Nobody can recommend anything for you if you cannot tell us what you have. AMD made Sempron 2600s in 3 different types. Each one has its "MAX" depending on which one you bought. They all perform the same, but the newer ones are more upgradable to NEW tech CPUs.

You have a good ASUS motherboard, but the model will tell us which CPU socket you have.

Here is a CPU chart - the lowest CPU on the chart is AMD64-2800. A Sempron 2600 would be about 30% slower. I made these red for you. The fastest possible upgrade if you have a 939CPU is the FX60... kind of expensive.

(forgot to add the chart)
http://www23.tomshardware.com/cpu.html?modelx=33&model1=509&model2=464&chart=166

Graphic performance is with a higher end card.
 
Joined
Jun 1, 2006
Messages
183
oops i mean 3 GHZ and the fastest u can get for a 939 board is an fx 62 but they are rare as gold dust
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top