1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Overclocking using nTune

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by spudy12, Jan 19, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. spudy12

spudy12 Thread Starter

I have been trying to overclock my dell xps 720 using ntune (latest one) and have had no success.
    i decided to try the automatic tuning as this is my first time at overclocking , but everytime it starts, does one test and crashes the software, then wont automaitcally restart or anything like it says it should?

What am i doing wrong?

Many thanks

Spud

2. onca

onca

First of all, what video card do you have? Some of them tolerate overclocking better than others.

Let's say you had 2 identical video cards. And by identical I mean the same model. Chances are that you wouldn't get the same results from both of them. One will overclock better than the other. What I'm getting at is, perhaps your video card can't take it.

Are there any artifacts when it's doing the testing? Does the test crash only the application or does it make your computer freeze? If the latter, then it's normal. Speaking from my experience, your computer will freeze if you over-overclock your video card, while it restarts if you over-overclock your RAM.

Anyway.. take this with a grain of salt since the last time I overclocked something was way over a year ago. Oh, and you might want to try an application called GPUTool. And make sure that your video card is not overheating.

3. dustyjay

dustyjay

First Name:
    Jay
    first thing to do is find out if the Dellis able tobe overclocked. Usually Factory made (Dell, HP/Compaq.....) are not possible to overclock. Which would make the nTune fail.

4. spudy12

spudy12 Thread Starter