Overclocking using nTune

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

spudy12

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 7, 2010
Messages
315
I have been trying to overclock my dell xps 720 using ntune (latest one) and have had no success.
i decided to try the automatic tuning as this is my first time at overclocking , but everytime it starts, does one test and crashes the software, then wont automaitcally restart or anything like it says it should?

What am i doing wrong?

Many thanks

Spud
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2011
Messages
22
First of all, what video card do you have? Some of them tolerate overclocking better than others.

Let's say you had 2 identical video cards. And by identical I mean the same model. Chances are that you wouldn't get the same results from both of them. One will overclock better than the other. What I'm getting at is, perhaps your video card can't take it.

Are there any artifacts when it's doing the testing? Does the test crash only the application or does it make your computer freeze? If the latter, then it's normal. Speaking from my experience, your computer will freeze if you over-overclock your video card, while it restarts if you over-overclock your RAM.

Anyway.. take this with a grain of salt since the last time I overclocked something was way over a year ago. Oh, and you might want to try an application called GPUTool. And make sure that your video card is not overheating.
 

dustyjay

Jay
Joined
Jan 23, 2003
Messages
12,661
first thing to do is find out if the Dellis able tobe overclocked. Usually Factory made (Dell, HP/Compaq.....) are not possible to overclock. Which would make the nTune fail.
 

spudy12

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 7, 2010
Messages
315
I have the nvidia GTX295 which i am pretty sure is able to be overclocked. And the card is not overheating as i monitor the temps with speedfan and the maximum it gets to is about 95.

It is not the computer that freezes or hangs, the ntune application just crashes and windows says its not responding. If i leave it for hours nothing will happen and the application won't come back up (ie start responding).

I have the dell xps720 and lts of people have overclocked this before. I can alter things manually if i wanted, it just won't run the auotmitc configure.
 

dustyjay

Jay
Joined
Jan 23, 2003
Messages
12,661
I misunderstod what you were doing, I thought you were trying to overclock the system in general.
 

spudy12

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 7, 2010
Messages
315
No problem, but any idea why the program crashes and will not run?
I have UAC and all that disabled?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top