1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

overclocking

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by teacher321, Aug 23, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. teacher321

    teacher321 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Hi,
    I have a couple of computers in our network of about 100 they are running Windows XP and office 2003. When I turn these two computers on the come up with a message in red: "Warning!!! The previous overclocking had failed, and the system will restore its default setting. Press any key to continue..."
    down the bottom of the screen it also give the option of DEL for the setup menu and F11 for the boot menu. There are also a few lines of information above the red message, but I don't think that is relevent. Unfortunatly no keys seem to work and turning the computer off and on again yeilds the same results. I have opened up th computers and removed the little watch battery and put it back in again. I have also removed and put back the RAM. After this both computers seem to work fine for a couple of days. Then the same message comes back again. The computers were purchased in 2009 and were supplied by CDM. Any suggestions?
    Thanks.
    P.S. this is my first time on a Forum.
     
  2. teacher321

    teacher321 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Also I forgot.
    I entered BIOS and selected the fail safe settings just now. Will this work or should I try something else?
     
  3. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,581
    First of all, posting the specs of the system in question would help.
    Next have you changed the cmos battery? If not, then do so. They are cheap and available just about anywhere; even walmart. It should be a 2032 battery.

    Just be sure you know what custom bios settings are needed since removing the battery will reset the bios to defaults. You may need to set sata mode, boot order, etc.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1066297

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice