1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Overseas power question

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by dlwright63, May 2, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. dlwright63

    dlwright63 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Im headed to a friend of mine in Amsterdam (Im in the US) and were going to be attending a LAN party over there. I need some advice.

    As far as the power difference over there 115 vs 230 is the only thing I have to do is click the little switch on my Power supply 115 to 230 and get a compatible power cord or iare there settings in the BIOs I would also have to change and/or any specific component adjustment I would have to make?

    Not taking my monitor (gunna get a loaner) so theres no reason to spend money on a transformer when I know you can just adjust the PSU to 230. But Im wondering about other stuff as stated above.

    Thanks for any advice I could get!
     
  2. bonk

    bonk Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    11,097
    No that sounds fine....with getting a plug adapter and switching the power to 230.


    I go to Asia myself and have no problems.
     
  3. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    That should be all you need to do. That's exactly what it's for.

    Unless someone else knows of any complicating issues.
     
  4. wolfgang53

    wolfgang53

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    Messages:
    33
    Yes, you'll have to set the power supply to 230. I don't think you would need any BIOS adjustments, but it would be a good thing to go into your BIOS and see if anything applies. The other thing you will need is a wall outlet plug adapter, as they are differnt than the ones we use in this country. Do a web search for "plug adapters" and you'll find multiple sources. Check these out:
    http://www.world-import.com/plugs.htm
    http://www.familyonboard.com/voltageconverters.html
    http://www.traveloasis.com/elad.html

    You need to be sure you get the correct adapter for where your going. UK/Ireland does not use the same as the rest of Europe. If you get a power adapter, it will step down the power to 120V, then you won't have to worry about it. Have a great trip.
     
  5. kiwiguy

    kiwiguy

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    17,584
    There is nothing whatsoever in the BIOS that relates to the power source, no need to go there at all.

    The other difference in sources is that the US is 60 Hz and Europe is 50 Hz, but as the computer PSU converts the incoming AC to DC before anything else, it will have no effect with the different frequency, the PC will never know.

    Just don't forget the 110-220/230v switch though or the PC will smoke in 0.01 seconds.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/569021

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice