1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

P2P Network

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by Danboy, Sep 14, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Danboy

    Danboy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2001
    Messages:
    694
    Hi,

    Haven't been here for a while so the computer must be running fine. I do have a question. Every once and awhile I get a popup from Zone Alarm asking if I want to let P2P Network go through. So far I have said no, not knowing what it is. I was hoping someone could fill me in on this. I went to Start,Run and typed in misconfig and it is checked in the startup list.

    Thanks Danboy
     
  2. RSM123

    RSM123

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Messages:
    5,531
    Have you got Kazaa or Grokster or some such file sharing program installed on your pc ?
     
  3. Danboy

    Danboy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2001
    Messages:
    694
    Started to download Kazaa, but stopped and checked it out here using search, realized what it was and stopped the download.

    Danboy
     
  4. walkeriam

    walkeriam

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    1,230
  5. beekeeper

    beekeeper

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    125
    P2P = people to people or peer to peer sharing. The safest one to use is kazaa lite (allegedly no spyware). I have no probs at all using it and always run an ad-aware & spybot scan straight after to be doubly safe
     
  6. Danboy

    Danboy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2001
    Messages:
    694
    Thanks you 2 for the info, I got rid of Kazaa.

    Danboy
     
  7. walkeriam

    walkeriam

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    1,230
    Did you get rid of it manually or by using KaZaaBeGone?

    I ask this so that others who have the same problem and view this thread know what to do.

    Thanks Danboy!
     
  8. Danboy

    Danboy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2001
    Messages:
    694
    I used the KazaaBeGone but I also had to go to Add/Remove programs and delete it from there. Also unchecked it in Startup after going to Start, Run, Msconfig.

    Thanks Danboy
     
  9. dabwid

    dabwid

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2003
    Messages:
    209
    I had KaZaa for awhile and used KaZaa BeGone. Later I still found a couple of registry keys for KaZaa.
     
  10. normmork

    normmork

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2002
    Messages:
    76
    You might also find a program called Bulldog on your machine that Kazaa installed.
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/164814

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice