P2P not working in dorm room...

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

ian80

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 26, 2002
Messages
292
Ok, I've asked this on P2P forums and I get -- "look it up, its been asked many times". QWhen I do, the terms used and the instructions given are over my head.

I just moved into a university residence. We are given free "high speed" access (yeah right!) and are all connected to the same server. Now, from what I've read, it seems that they have blocked a port...or something. Basically, when I open Kazaa Lite, if tells me that I'm connecting, but I never actually connect (and therefore can't search/download). I do not understand any of this. So, yeah, I know there is a way to fix it, but I don't know (or understand) how.
 
Joined
Sep 12, 2003
Messages
36
depending on the ports blocked, and the amount of management of the firewall, you may not be able to use PTP.
 

ian80

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 26, 2002
Messages
292
hmmm...ok, well let's just say that the there is low management of the fire wall and very litttle ports are blocked...what could I do to try to get around it?
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,418
Go to another school? :rolleyes: They block the ports to avoid abuse just as you're contemplating, and I don't think this site should be a party to circumventing those protections. (n)
 

ian80

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 26, 2002
Messages
292
I don't see what the problem is...or what they are protecting. I'm in Canada...so there is no threat of legal action to the university. Also, as far as bandwidth use. i use it mostly the download the odd song -- I'm not download four movies at a time or anything like that.
 
Joined
Sep 12, 2003
Messages
36
Originally posted by ian80:
I don't see what the problem is...or what they are protecting.
Exactly, you not seeing the big picture that Network Engineers have to deal with. There is bandwith issues, virus issues, illegal activies, and security issues that can get way out of hand and P2P programs are one of the main pipes that cause these issues.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,418
I have to agree, just because you don't see what the problem is, that doesn't mean there isn't a problem. :)
 
Joined
Sep 18, 2003
Messages
14
There is probally nothing you can do anyway
Its not a configuration setting on your end, its on the server.
You would have to ask the network admin to unblock ports and i doubt that they would for the reasons listed in previous posts
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top