1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

P4 and Windows Vista

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by Matts3D, Sep 30, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Matts3D

    Matts3D Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    232
    Hello all,
    I was wondering if my computer would be strong enough to support Vista.

    Windows XP
    Pentium 4
    CPU 2.64 Ghz, 2.64 Ghz
    2.00 Gig of Ram
    Ati Radeon X1650 AGP 256 MB
     
  2. fairnooks

    fairnooks Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    5,251
    You won't be doing any multitasking with apps that hog the CPU but it should run passably well or ok depending on expectations, better with the Aero Glass and sidebar and such turned off. Striped down it will run almost as fast as XP.
     
  3. Matts3D

    Matts3D Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    232
    well...
    I'm in the multimedia business, I use Photoshop a lot with Illustrator running at the same time and 3D app Cinema 4D...
    I guess I should wait?
    I went to a computer store lately and the guy can upgrade my comp for 660$
    Quadcore, 4Gigs of Ram, 1024 MB graphic card
    New mother board, CPU and Power supply.
    Good deal or not?
     
  4. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    That's basically a new computer. Sounds like a pretty good deal. But 32-bit Vista can't use 4 GB's of memory, so you may want to consider 64-bit.

    It wouldn't hurt to try Vista on the machine before spending money. Vista installs in a graded fashion depending on the machine's capabilities. I have it installed on a machine with 1650 MHz CPU and 740 MB's of RAM and it runs pretty well. But it has an old ATI card that doesn't support Aero, anyway, so I turned off desktop composition and other unneeded services. You might be surprized.

    You could make an image of your XP installation with Macrium Reflect and restore it completely if you didn't like Vista.
     
  5. davehc

    davehc Retired Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,059
    First Name:
    David
    I have a machine with the same specs, except for the CPU (Mine is 3.2) I run Vista ultimate 64 bit and 32 bit in a dual boot (All P4's are 64 bit capable)
    I am not a heavy game player but do use graphics a little.
    I think that if you upgraded to 4 gbs ram you would find it would do most things you require.
    The 2GBs can cope with multitasking but 4 would certainly improve it. If you really want to dive into the 64 bit, then 4gigs would be minimum.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/754684

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice