P9X79 Boot Fail

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

AJScott

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 27, 2011
Messages
64
Hey guys

Got a ASUS P9X79 Pro motherboard
16GB DDR3 RAM
2TB HDD
850 Watt PSU
GTX 680 GPU
i-3930k (not arrived yet just trying to boot to BIOS/post screen to check everythings good)

Plugged everything in but my machine doesn't power on fully. On the motherboard I get the LED's telling me my machine is in standby mode, no beep codes however. The LED on the front of machine doesn't turn on, nor do the front switches do anything like the power or reset button. I get no image when plugged into a monitor (monitor works fine) it does not post. I've tried different RAM, no GPU, taking the system apart and putting it back together. Power is going to the motherboard hence the lights, however my PSU fan doesn't spin. I tried connecting my other fans but they didn't spin so I've been trying it without them. I connected the PSU 24 pin & 8 pin to the motherboard, I also tried the 4 pin instead of the 8 pin but it didn't work.

Any thoughts?
 

AJScott

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 27, 2011
Messages
64
ALso, I do not have PSU tester or another motherboard I can test. If possible, I'd like to avoid taking it to a computer shop. The ones in my town aren't exactly cheap.
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2008
Messages
11,761
Some history would help...is this a PC you have just built or one that you just started having this problem with?
 

AJScott

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 27, 2011
Messages
64
Some history would help...is this a PC you have just built or one that you just started having this problem with?
Just started to build it today. I have built PC's in the past so this is not my first.
 

AJScott

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 27, 2011
Messages
64
Do you mean you do not have any CPU in the slot at all?
I do not, but I was following an ASUS guide on updating the BIOS and you only need power and the motherboard. Do I need it to POST/get into the BIOS?
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2008
Messages
11,761
Personally I cannot say for-sure as I have never turned a PC on without the CPU....maybe someone else here has and know the results.
 

managed

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
13,714
First Name
Allan
I think it's impossible to do anything without a CPU. Even flashing a Bios involves running a program and you can't run a program without a CPU

Got a link to the Asus guide you're using ?
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
40,863
The board will not post without a cpu. Stop now before you damage something.

That board needs at least bios 906 or later to run that cpu. Asus support can tell you what bios your board shipped with if you provide the serial number from the box. Note you have to get someone on the phone who actually understands what they are doing. If you get someone who is simply reading from a sheet, they will not know how to research what bios the board shipped with.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top