Packed.Generic.240

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
122,206
Go to Control Panel - Add/Remove programs and remove:

Viewpoint Media Player

Please do an online scan with Kaspersky WebScanner

Kaspersky online scanner uses JAVA tecnology to perform the scan. If you do not have Java then you will need to go to the following link and download the latest version:

JRE 6 Update 15

Instructions for Kaspersky scan:

  1. Read through the requirements and privacy statement and click on Accept button.
  2. It will start downloading and installing the scanner and virus definitions. You will be prompted to install an application from Kaspersky. Click Run.
  3. When the downloads have finished, click on Settings.
  4. Make sure the following is checked.
    • Spyware, Adware, Dialers, and other potentially dangerous programs
      Archives
      Mail databases
  5. Click on My Computer under Scan.
  6. Once the scan is complete, it will display the results. Click on View Scan Report.
  7. You will see a list of infected items there. Click on Save Report As....
  8. Save this report to a convenient place. Change the Files of type to Text file (.txt) before clicking on the Save button.
  9. Please post this log in your next reply.
 

padutch

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 1, 2001
Messages
1,297
Before I proceed with downloading Kaspersky, I have a "program" (Plan It) on my computer that was written by my sister who has warned me many times to be careful what I run that might assume that the "program" is potenially harmful. She is not available for me to ask this right now, but I am pretty certain that she said Sybase and/or SQL Server. I just want to be certain that this will not be affected by Kaspersky. Thank you!
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
122,206
It should be backed up in any event as your system could crash and it would be lost. That can happen even on a healthy system.

The Kaspersky on-line scan doesn't delete anything, it will merely reports its findings and then we have to decide what needs to be deleted, if anything.
 

padutch

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 1, 2001
Messages
1,297
Thank you, I did back up the program. I then turned off my Norton and attempted to run the Java update from my desktop. It was unsucessful. After reading on their site, I believe I probably need to turn off Malwarebytes which you had me download earlier. I am unsure how to do this so I have not been able to proceed. Again, thank you for your time.
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
122,206
Try running the Java installer in safe mode.
 

padutch

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 1, 2001
Messages
1,297
I attemted to run Java in safe mde and was unable to do so. I have two different exe for Java on my desktop because one runs with an internet connection while the other does not. Neither worked.
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
122,206
Are you trying to use the Sun Java downloader or just the direct executable download?
 

padutch

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 1, 2001
Messages
1,297
I clicked on the link mentioned in your #16 response. From that site I saved to my desktop- JaveSetup6u15.exe Sun Microsystems. When that didn't work I read on their site to use the following which didn't work either- jre-6u15-windows-i586-s.exe Sun Microsystems. I attempted both with Norton disabled. These are the same two I attempted today in Safe Mode. Thank you!
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
122,206
What happens when you try to install it? Do you get an error message?
 

padutch

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 1, 2001
Messages
1,297
When I attempt to run the JavaSetup ...The installer cannot proceeed with the current Internet connection settings.
When I attempt to run jre-6u.....The system administrator has set policies to prevent this installation.
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
122,206
Download OTS.exe to your Desktop and double-click on it to extract the files. It will create a folder named OTS on your desktop.
  1. Close any open browsers.
  2. If your Real protection or Antivirus interferes with OTS, allow it to run.
  3. Open the OTS folder and double-click on OTS.exe to start the program.
  4. In Additional Scans section put a check in Disabled MS Config Items and EventViewer logs
  5. Now click the Run Scan button on the toolbar.
  6. Let it run unhindered until it finishes.
  7. When the scan is complete Notepad will open with the report file loaded in it.
  8. Save that notepad file.
Use the Reply button, scroll down to the attachments section and attach the notepad file here.
 

padutch

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 1, 2001
Messages
1,297
When I double clicked the OTS folder on my desktop I received the following message- C:\Documents and Settings\user\Desktop\OTS.exe is not a valid win32 application. I deleted the exe file from my desktop and attempted the process again with and without Norton running, and lastly I attempted it in Safe Mode. Each time I got the same message. Thank you for your time.
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
122,206
Please navigate to the following folder:

C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\etc

Open the etc folder and right-click on Hosts (it's the one with no file extension and just the word hosts and nothing else) and select Open With and then Notepad. Then copy and paste the contents here please.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top