Page Can not be Displayed when Searching

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

wguido

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 16, 2003
Messages
206
When I try to search from the address bar, it keeps saying page can not be displayed. It just worked last night, now it isnt. How do I fix it? I reset my websettings and everything, but still no luck, and I have it set to search from the address bar too..HELP!
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2003
Messages
13
I had this problem for a few days, searched many forums and finally found a solution that worked for me. Hope this works for you microsoft
this is the file that was damaged on my system Actxprxy.dll
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2003
Messages
1,241
Hi WGuido,

You may have a searchbar hijack.

Download 'Hijack This!' from http://www.spywareinfo.com/files/hijackthis.zip
Unzip, doubleclick HijackThis.exe, and hit "Scan". When the scan is finished, click "Save Log", and copy and paste it in a reply.

This will give us a rundown of what’s going on in your PC. One of us here will be glad to analyse it for you. Don’t fix anything yourself yet, as a lot of the stuff on that list will be harmless or required.

Cheers

Liam
 

wguido

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 16, 2003
Messages
206
Logfile of HijackThis v1.97.2
Scan saved at 1:25:46 PM, on 10/4/2003
Platform: Windows XP SP1 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
C:\Program Files\Synaptics\SynTP\SynTPLpr.exe
C:\Program Files\Synaptics\SynTP\SynTPEnh.exe
C:\Program Files\DELL\AccessDirect\dadapp.exe
C:\Program Files\Dell\Support\Alert\bin\DAMon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\spool\drivers\w32x86\3\hpztsb05.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\hphmon04.exe
C:\Program Files\Hewlett-Packard\HP Share-to-Web\hpgs2wnd.exe
C:\Program Files\AIM95\aim.exe
C:\Program Files\D-Link AirPlus\WLANMON.exe
C:\Program Files\Hewlett-Packard\HP Share-to-Web\hpgs2wnf.exe
C:\WINDOWS\svchost.exe
C:\PROGRA~1\COMMON~1\AOL\ACS\acsd.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\dcfssvc.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\nvsvc32.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\wanmpsvc.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\ctfmon.exe
C:\Program Files\KODAK\Kodak EasyShare software\bin\EasyShare.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Real\Update_OB\realsched.exe
C:\Program Files\Outlook Express\msimn.exe
C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
C:\unzipped\hijackthis[1]\HijackThis.exe

R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.comcast.net/
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://www.dellnet.com
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.dellnet.com
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://www.comcast.net
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Window Title = Microsoft Internet Explorer provided by Comcast High-Speed Internet
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 6.0\Reader\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.dll
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {FDD3B846-8D59-4ffb-8758-209B6AD74ACC} - C:\Program Files\Microsoft Money\System\mnyviewer.dll (disabled by BHODemon)
O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\msdxm.ocx
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\System32\NvCpl.dll,NvStartup
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SynTPLpr] C:\Program Files\Synaptics\SynTP\SynTPLpr.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SynTPEnh] C:\Program Files\Synaptics\SynTP\SynTPEnh.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [DadApp] C:\Program Files\DELL\AccessDirect\dadapp.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NeroCheck] C:\WINDOWS\System32\NeroCheck.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Dell|Alert] C:\Program Files\Dell\Support\Alert\bin\DAMon.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TkBellExe] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Real\Update_OB\realsched.exe" -osboot
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [HPDJ Taskbar Utility] C:\WINDOWS\System32\spool\drivers\w32x86\3\hpztsb05.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [HPHmon04] C:\WINDOWS\System32\hphmon04.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [HPHUPD04] "C:\Program Files\HP Photosmart 11\hphinstall\UniPatch\hphupd04.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Share-to-Web Namespace Daemon] C:\Program Files\Hewlett-Packard\HP Share-to-Web\hpgs2wnd.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] "C:\Program Files\QuickTime\qttask.exe" -atboottime
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [AIM] C:\Program Files\AIM95\aim.exe -cnetwait.odl
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [ctfmon.exe] C:\WINDOWS\System32\ctfmon.exe
O4 - Global Startup: America Online 9.0 Tray Icon.lnk = C:\Program Files\America Online 9.0\aoltray.exe
O4 - Global Startup: D-Link AirPlus DWL-650+ Utility.lnk = ?
O8 - Extra context menu item: RemindU - file://C:\Program Files\UpromiseRemindU\System\Temp\upromise_script0.htm
O9 - Extra button: AIM (HKLM)
O9 - Extra button: Real.com (HKLM)
O9 - Extra button: MoneySide (HKLM)
O9 - Extra button: RemindU (HKCU)
O14 - IERESET.INF: START_PAGE_URL=http://www.comcast.net
O16 - DPF: {01A88BB1-1174-41EC-ACCB-963509EAE56B} (SysProWmi Class) - http://support.dell.com/systemprofiler/SysPro.CAB
O16 - DPF: {02BF25D5-8C17-4B23-BC80-D3488ABDDC6B} (QuickTime Object) - http://www.apple.com/qtactivex/qtplugin.cab
O16 - DPF: {058025FC-4416-436B-ACFD-03E6224C901C} (FileInfo Class) - http://diagnostics.support.hp.com/motivedocs/ces/aw/ipgaxctrl.cab
O16 - DPF: {4A3CF76B-EC7A-405D-A67D-8DC6B52AB35B} - http://activex.microsoft.com/objects/ocget.dll
O16 - DPF: {B942A249-D1E7-4C11-98AE-FCB76B08747F} (RealArcadeRdxIE Class) - http://games-dl.real.com/gameconsole/Bundler/CAB/RealArcadeRdxIE.cab
O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2003
Messages
1,241
Well bang goes that idea, wguido.. :D

There's a bit of clutter there you could get rid of but it won't fix your problem, so we'll leave that for another time. Next step is to repair IE.

Click on Start | Settings | Control Panel | Add/Remove Programs, then scroll down the list and highlight Internet Explorer 6.0 and Internet Tools by clicking once. A button will illuminate under the list saying Add/Remove program. Click on that and then select the radio button with the option to Repair, and click OK. See if that does it.

Cheers

Liam
 

wguido

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 16, 2003
Messages
206
I dont see that...all I See is internet Explorer Q822925
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2003
Messages
1,241
No problem wguido, try this...

Go to Start | Programs | Accessories | System Tools | System Information | Tools | Internet Explorer Repair Tool and do it from there. See how you get on with that.

Cheers

Liam
 

Miz

Joined
Jul 1, 2002
Messages
2,146
Can you get to any search engine websites at all? For instance, if you try to go to www.google.com, can you get there?

If you can't access any search engine sites, you may be infected with the Qhosts trojan...although the HighjackThis log doesn't seem to indicate its presence.

Couldn't hurt to download and use the removal tool "just in case" which you can get here.
 

wguido

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 16, 2003
Messages
206
i do not see anytnig that says tools under system information. a box comes up with like a menu on the side...
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2003
Messages
4
Wguido,

I think you have what I just removed from my computer - the QHosts-1 virus. I was not able to reach Google and many other websites. When I started looking I noticed I had a second "hosts" file in under the "help" section of my OS (XP) Some research told me I (actually my wife) must have hit a web page that was infected. for removal information visit:
http://us.mcafee.com/virusInfo/default.asp?id=description&virus_k=100719

And since this virus has only been around since 9-30-03 you may not have an anti-virus product to get it, and the "removal" tool from Symantic did not remove it for me. I had to do the "manual" removal. But it worked.

***** Manual Removal (Quoted from from McAfee) *****
Manual Removal Instructions

Apply the MS03-040 patch
Delete the following files:

%WinDir%\Help\hosts
%WinDir%\winlog
Set the following registry key value (Information on editing registry keys ):
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\
Tcpip\Parameters "DataBasePath" = %SystemRoot%\System32\drivers\etc
Delete the following registry key value (Information on deleting registry keys ):
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\
Services\Tcpip\Parameters\Interfaces\windows "r0x"
Reconfigure your DNS server settings as desired
Reconfigure your Internet Explorer settings as desired
Additional Windows ME/XP removal considerations
 

wguido

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 16, 2003
Messages
206
and I can get to yahoo.com, but when i try to search in their search box, it says page can not be displayed also.
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2003
Messages
1,241
Hi wguido,
do not see anytnig that says tools under system information. a box comes up with like a menu on the side...
Sorry, I should have been clearer. Click on the Tools drop-down menu at the top. (See attached)

Hope that's clearer.

Cheers

Liam
 

Attachments

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top