1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Page Can not be Displayed when Searching

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by wguido, Oct 3, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. wguido

    wguido Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    206
    When I try to search from the address bar, it keeps saying page can not be displayed. It just worked last night, now it isnt. How do I fix it? I reset my websettings and everything, but still no luck, and I have it set to search from the address bar too..HELP!
     
  2. Auser

    Auser

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    I had this problem for a few days, searched many forums and finally found a solution that worked for me. Hope this works for you microsoft
    this is the file that was damaged on my system Actxprxy.dll
     
  3. wguido

    wguido Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    206
    nope :( tried all of that, still doesnt work
     
  4. e-liam

    e-liam

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,242
    Hi WGuido,

    You may have a searchbar hijack.

    Download 'Hijack This!' from http://www.spywareinfo.com/files/hijackthis.zip
    Unzip, doubleclick HijackThis.exe, and hit "Scan". When the scan is finished, click "Save Log", and copy and paste it in a reply.

    This will give us a rundown of what’s going on in your PC. One of us here will be glad to analyse it for you. Don’t fix anything yourself yet, as a lot of the stuff on that list will be harmless or required.

    Cheers

    Liam
     
  5. wguido

    wguido Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    206
    Logfile of HijackThis v1.97.2
    Scan saved at 1:25:46 PM, on 10/4/2003
    Platform: Windows XP SP1 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
    C:\Program Files\Synaptics\SynTP\SynTPLpr.exe
    C:\Program Files\Synaptics\SynTP\SynTPEnh.exe
    C:\Program Files\DELL\AccessDirect\dadapp.exe
    C:\Program Files\Dell\Support\Alert\bin\DAMon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\spool\drivers\w32x86\3\hpztsb05.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\hphmon04.exe
    C:\Program Files\Hewlett-Packard\HP Share-to-Web\hpgs2wnd.exe
    C:\Program Files\AIM95\aim.exe
    C:\Program Files\D-Link AirPlus\WLANMON.exe
    C:\Program Files\Hewlett-Packard\HP Share-to-Web\hpgs2wnf.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\svchost.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\COMMON~1\AOL\ACS\acsd.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\dcfssvc.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\nvsvc32.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\wanmpsvc.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\ctfmon.exe
    C:\Program Files\KODAK\Kodak EasyShare software\bin\EasyShare.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Real\Update_OB\realsched.exe
    C:\Program Files\Outlook Express\msimn.exe
    C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
    C:\unzipped\hijackthis[1]\HijackThis.exe

    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.comcast.net/
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://www.dellnet.com
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.dellnet.com
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://www.comcast.net
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Window Title = Microsoft Internet Explorer provided by Comcast High-Speed Internet
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 6.0\Reader\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.dll
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {FDD3B846-8D59-4ffb-8758-209B6AD74ACC} - C:\Program Files\Microsoft Money\System\mnyviewer.dll (disabled by BHODemon)
    O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\msdxm.ocx
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\System32\NvCpl.dll,NvStartup
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SynTPLpr] C:\Program Files\Synaptics\SynTP\SynTPLpr.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SynTPEnh] C:\Program Files\Synaptics\SynTP\SynTPEnh.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [DadApp] C:\Program Files\DELL\AccessDirect\dadapp.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NeroCheck] C:\WINDOWS\System32\NeroCheck.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Dell|Alert] C:\Program Files\Dell\Support\Alert\bin\DAMon.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TkBellExe] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Real\Update_OB\realsched.exe" -osboot
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [HPDJ Taskbar Utility] C:\WINDOWS\System32\spool\drivers\w32x86\3\hpztsb05.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [HPHmon04] C:\WINDOWS\System32\hphmon04.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [HPHUPD04] "C:\Program Files\HP Photosmart 11\hphinstall\UniPatch\hphupd04.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Share-to-Web Namespace Daemon] C:\Program Files\Hewlett-Packard\HP Share-to-Web\hpgs2wnd.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] "C:\Program Files\QuickTime\qttask.exe" -atboottime
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [AIM] C:\Program Files\AIM95\aim.exe -cnetwait.odl
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [ctfmon.exe] C:\WINDOWS\System32\ctfmon.exe
    O4 - Global Startup: America Online 9.0 Tray Icon.lnk = C:\Program Files\America Online 9.0\aoltray.exe
    O4 - Global Startup: D-Link AirPlus DWL-650+ Utility.lnk = ?
    O8 - Extra context menu item: RemindU - file://C:\Program Files\UpromiseRemindU\System\Temp\upromise_script0.htm
    O9 - Extra button: AIM (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: Real.com (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: MoneySide (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: RemindU (HKCU)
    O14 - IERESET.INF: START_PAGE_URL=http://www.comcast.net
    O16 - DPF: {01A88BB1-1174-41EC-ACCB-963509EAE56B} (SysProWmi Class) - http://support.dell.com/systemprofiler/SysPro.CAB
    O16 - DPF: {02BF25D5-8C17-4B23-BC80-D3488ABDDC6B} (QuickTime Object) - http://www.apple.com/qtactivex/qtplugin.cab
    O16 - DPF: {058025FC-4416-436B-ACFD-03E6224C901C} (FileInfo Class) - http://diagnostics.support.hp.com/motivedocs/ces/aw/ipgaxctrl.cab
    O16 - DPF: {4A3CF76B-EC7A-405D-A67D-8DC6B52AB35B} - http://activex.microsoft.com/objects/ocget.dll
    O16 - DPF: {B942A249-D1E7-4C11-98AE-FCB76B08747F} (RealArcadeRdxIE Class) - http://games-dl.real.com/gameconsole/Bundler/CAB/RealArcadeRdxIE.cab
    O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab
     
  6. e-liam

    e-liam

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,242
    Well bang goes that idea, wguido.. :D

    There's a bit of clutter there you could get rid of but it won't fix your problem, so we'll leave that for another time. Next step is to repair IE.

    Click on Start | Settings | Control Panel | Add/Remove Programs, then scroll down the list and highlight Internet Explorer 6.0 and Internet Tools by clicking once. A button will illuminate under the list saying Add/Remove program. Click on that and then select the radio button with the option to Repair, and click OK. See if that does it.

    Cheers

    Liam
     
  7. wguido

    wguido Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    206
    I dont see that...all I See is internet Explorer Q822925
     
  8. e-liam

    e-liam

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,242
    No problem wguido, try this...

    Go to Start | Programs | Accessories | System Tools | System Information | Tools | Internet Explorer Repair Tool and do it from there. See how you get on with that.

    Cheers

    Liam
     
  9. Miz

    Miz

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    2,146
    Can you get to any search engine websites at all? For instance, if you try to go to www.google.com, can you get there?

    If you can't access any search engine sites, you may be infected with the Qhosts trojan...although the HighjackThis log doesn't seem to indicate its presence.

    Couldn't hurt to download and use the removal tool "just in case" which you can get here.
     
  10. wguido

    wguido Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    206
  11. wguido

    wguido Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    206
    i do not see anytnig that says tools under system information. a box comes up with like a menu on the side...
     
  12. cniehaus

    cniehaus

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Wguido,

    I think you have what I just removed from my computer - the QHosts-1 virus. I was not able to reach Google and many other websites. When I started looking I noticed I had a second "hosts" file in under the "help" section of my OS (XP) Some research told me I (actually my wife) must have hit a web page that was infected. for removal information visit:
    http://us.mcafee.com/virusInfo/default.asp?id=description&virus_k=100719

    And since this virus has only been around since 9-30-03 you may not have an anti-virus product to get it, and the "removal" tool from Symantic did not remove it for me. I had to do the "manual" removal. But it worked.

    ***** Manual Removal (Quoted from from McAfee) *****
    Manual Removal Instructions

    Apply the MS03-040 patch
    Delete the following files:

    %WinDir%\Help\hosts
    %WinDir%\winlog
    Set the following registry key value (Information on editing registry keys ):
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\
    Tcpip\Parameters "DataBasePath" = %SystemRoot%\System32\drivers\etc
    Delete the following registry key value (Information on deleting registry keys ):
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\
    Services\Tcpip\Parameters\Interfaces\windows "r0x"
    Reconfigure your DNS server settings as desired
    Reconfigure your Internet Explorer settings as desired
    Additional Windows ME/XP removal considerations
     
  13. wguido

    wguido Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    206
    how do I find those files?
     
  14. wguido

    wguido Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    206
    and I can get to yahoo.com, but when i try to search in their search box, it says page can not be displayed also.
     
  15. e-liam

    e-liam

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,242
    Hi wguido,
    Sorry, I should have been clearer. Click on the Tools drop-down menu at the top. (See attached)

    Hope that's clearer.

    Cheers

    Liam
     

    Attached Files:

  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/169366

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice