"Page cannot be displayed"

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

crazylarry

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 14, 2003
Messages
4
Using IE 6.0 w/SP1 and all updates + WIN98. There are one or two specific web sites that my browser will not contact. I have no problems on any other computer. My ISP has been of little help. I've deleted cookies, adjusted and readjusted privacy and internet configs, but nothing works. Why can I not connect to certain sites? Users try: www.businessgateway.ca for verification.
This is one of the sites I can't get to.

Please Help! Thanks.
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2002
Messages
2,773
hi

Check your hosts file to see if the sites are being blocked

c:\windows\hosts

If you find the site you cannot reach in the hosts file - delete that line
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2003
Messages
103
On your IE right click
go to properties then
to the "Advanced Tab"
scroll down to see if
the items below have
a check mark beside them

check settings for SSL 2.0, SSL 3.0, TLS 1.0, PCT 1.0.

also check "Show friendly URL's"

If above items are checked you can try the below
method.

Internet Options box, click Privacy Tab then click the
Edit button at the bottom.
Add the sites url
click Allow then ok.
click apply if need be.
then ok and try loading
the site again.
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2003
Messages
103
did the site load up before on your computer? is there anything specific i can get from the site for you?

Accessibility
BusinessGateway.ca makes every effort to meet the needs of our clients by providing a Web site that is accessible and that offers content equally in both official languages. In the event that you are having difficulty accessing or interpreting any of our Web pages, please contact us by:
E-mail: [email protected]
Phone: 1-866-287-4283
Mail: BusinessGateway.ca
235 Queen Street, Room 186B
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0H5
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2002
Messages
2,773
At the top of the page - click help - about internet explorer

is your cipher-strength "128-bit" ?

Have you deleted your temporary internet files since this problem started - if not, do it now.
 

crazylarry

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 14, 2003
Messages
4
I have never been able to contact this site from my computer.
Thanks for all the help and the contact info, I will try that.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top