1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Page Fault

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by sprinkles-uk, Nov 16, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. sprinkles-uk

    sprinkles-uk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    For months now I have been unable to start my computer normally. If I just leave it to start up I get STOP 0x0000050 PAGE_FAULT_IN_NON_PAGED_AREA, but strangely, if I press F8 and select 'Debugging mode', it runs fine.
    Problems started a while back, when I was getting lock-ups and unexpected restarts. When I turned off the automatic restart thing I got the same stop error as above. Someone suggested that the ram was at fault, so I replaced both sticks and the problems continue. The strange thing is, when I do get it running in Debugging mode, it runs fine, unless I try to do something intensive on the CPU like converting a video, or playing a WMA with DRM.

    I'm running Windows 2000 Professional, with an Athlon XP 1800+, and 256MB of RAM.

    Any help greatly appreciated!
     
  2. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,117
    Here is a mskb article that references your problem.
    In addition, page faults are very often caused by memory problems. Download and run memtest86 to see if there are any problems with the memory.
     
  3. sprinkles-uk

    sprinkles-uk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    Thanks for the reply, but I don't have that software installed! Also the error does not reference a particular file.
    I replaced all of the ram so that;s not it either.
     
  4. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,117
    I would still run memtest. I have seen many many times that ram install and working in one system will not work or will give errors in another system. You may have a voltage regulator failing on the board or a power supply problem. This would allow the ram voltage to fall below what is required.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Page Fault
  1. dano_61
    Replies:
    12
    Views:
    436
  2. ADC2
    Replies:
    14
    Views:
    690
  3. Harbhajan
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    206
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/417342

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice