1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Paperport Visioneer Scanner Problems

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by spiritjoy196, Jan 17, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. spiritjoy196

    spiritjoy196 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Messages:
    3
    I have a Paperport Visioneer One Touch Scanner that has always worked great, and I love it. Last night I scanned some documents and it was fine. This morning, when I try to open the program, it says that this program has performed an illegal operation, and it won't open. It says Paperport has caused an invalid page fault. I have completely uninstalled the program, and re-installed it, all to no avail. The same message keeps coming up. I did a search of this forum to see if anybody had the same problem, and somebody with a different model Paperport had something similar happen, but nobody has yet given them an answer to their problem. I hope somebody sees this and can give me an idea what to do. I use my scanner a lot.
     
  2. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Can you post the complete message?
     
  3. spiritjoy196

    spiritjoy196 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Messages:
    3
    Yes, this is what it said:

    PAPRPORT caused an invalid page fault in
    module RPCRT4.DLL at 0177:7fc0ec16.
    Registers:
    EAX=006837f7 CS=0177 EIP=7fc0ec16 EFLGS=00010212
    EBX=0067f6bc SS=017f ESP=0067f4dc EBP=0067f6cc
    ECX=77124438 DS=017f ESI=00000484 FS=573f
    EDX=bff76859 ES=017f EDI=7712454e GS=0000
    Bytes at CS:EIP:
    ff 30 ff 75 d4 8d 85 1c fe ff ff 50 e8 c5 0a 00
    Stack dump:
    0067fa00 00000000 00000000 0067f624 ffffffff 00000000 00000000 00000004 00000000 00000014 0067f6b0 00000001 00000000 00000000 0067f63c 00000000
     
  4. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
  5. spiritjoy196

    spiritjoy196 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Messages:
    3
    This support link says I should uninstall and re-install dial-up networking. I haven't been having a problem with that, and no, I was not doing anything else while using paperport, nor have I had problems with...........well, I have occasionally had a problem with Netscape giving me an invalid page fault, but I'm not sure that has anything to do with this. I will try this and get back to you.
     
  6. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Not sure if it'll solve the probelm, I found a couple of more that referred to dial up networking as being the culprit of an invalid page fault in module RPCRT4.DLL message too..........
     
  7. spiritjoy196

    spiritjoy196 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Messages:
    3
    I'm saying OUCH because the places that you told me to go and get a solution to my problem caused nothing but MORE problems. After I uninstalled dial-up networking and then re-installed it, at the end of the re-install I got another different error message. When I tried to get back on the internet to ask you about it, I couldn't get back on! None of my browsers would start. Then other systems started to get error messages, and I could not get them to start either. I had to call tech support from my ISP, and they said that according to the error messages I was getting, the only thing I could do was do a total re-format of my hard drive. When I asked what could have caused this, they said that more than likely it's because Windows is not very good at remembering where it writes things, so sometimes it might forget where it put something and write over it. Then the file you need is missing. Anyway, I spent all night (literally) re-partitioning my hard drive, formatting, and reloading every program on my computer, not to mention that I spent 8 hours saving data from my hard drive to disk before I did this so it wouldn't be lost. Needless to say, I am NOT a happy camper! My ISP tech guy is going to help me see about possibly getting on Linux instead of windows. I HATE MICROSOFT!
     
  8. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Ouch....sorry about all your grief. There is no way in the world though, however, that a total reformat would have been the only solution.

    I had a similar experience getting my wireless internet hooked up. When the tech people couldn't get one computer's browser to connect, they suggested I reformat the hard drive as well. I think that is Tech Support 1.01 stupid answer 1 to save them time......I was able to get it working after they left without a reformat.......
     
  9. spiritjoy196

    spiritjoy196 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Messages:
    3
    And the bad thing is, now that I have re-formatted and reloaded everything, Paperport is STILL not working, it still is giving me the same illegal operation message. So what can be the problem? I am NOT going to try the dial-up networking thing again, because it didn't work. Besides, there was never anything wrong with my dial-up networking. Any other suggestions?
     
  10. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Since you reloaded everything, you might check to be sure you have any patches that came out after the software was released loaded, and/or the most current drivers for the scanner.
     
  11. jm100dm

    jm100dm

    Joined:
    May 26, 1999
    Messages:
    994
    I too had problems with my visioneer a few years back and the tech help by them via e-mail was quick and solved my problems. May be a solution. Too long ago to give any details though.
    Good luck

    http://www.visioneer.com/Support/index.asp

    jm100dm
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/113814

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice