1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Parent Control S/W for tech savvy teen

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by cynthiad, Oct 16, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. cynthiad

cynthiad Thread Starter

Help please. I have a tech savvy 16 year old son that has to use his computer to do his homework, but is abusing it. I need to be able to see how he is using it (sites/time/things he's doing) and ideally restrict the site "affimatively" to just the sites he needs to do his homework. I check history, but he's savvy enuf' to clear individual entries as he goes..... I've reat about Webwatcher adn SpectrePro but have no idea what's good and what he couldn't detect and remove... I'm not that technical.... help please!

2. Squashman

Squashman Trusted Advisor

He can clear the History all he wants but the links he visits are still in another file. In a file called Index.dat.

You have a couple of options. Windows makes a product called Steady State which is free. This should help with a few things. There is K9 web protection also a free product. If you have a broadband router, most of them these days have a logging feature to see where people are going out to the Internet.

Then there is OpenDNS which is a great free product. You create an OpenDNS account and then setup your broadband router to use them as your DNS servers. In your DNS account you can setup sites to allow and block.

Now OpenDNS use to have a feature that would show you all the domains that were visited from your network but they disabled this feature a while back and have not reenabled it. It is been disabled for quite some time now.

3. cwwozniak

cwwozniak Trusted Advisor

First Name:
    Chuck