1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Partition/Drive Too Full to Upgrade to 2000

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by jrp, Oct 10, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jrp

jrp Thread Starter

My hard drive has two partitions: C and D, with C being about almost full and D virtually empty. In trying to upgrade my operating system to 2000 from 98, I get the message that the C drive doesn't have enough room. Is there a way to install to D and insure that the computer will boot from D. Or do I have to do merge the partitions with a special program such as "Partition Magic," which isn't a big deal but I'm not a real techie either. Thank you.

2. Squashman

Squashman Trusted Advisor

If you install it to your D drive it will be like setting up a Dual boot scenario. You will then have both OSes on there. It is always best to do a clean install when going to 2000 or XP. I personally would back up my data to your D drive or CD and Reformat the Primary partition and install 2000.

3. jrp

jrp Thread Starter

A few questions to accomplish what you suggest. (1) For backing up purposes do I merely copy all my files from C to D, including the program files? (2) And then which program do I use to re-format the C drive? (3) For installing OS 2000 my files are on the D drive (and not a CD). How will I be able to access OS 2000 on the D drive to install to the C drive? Thanks much.

4. Squashman

You have to reinstall your programs if you reinstall your OS. Little confused on why you dont have CD's for 2000. Makes me think you dont have a legal copy. The Windows 2000 installation boots off a cd. When the installation starts it will ask you where you want to install 2000 and if you want to format the drive or not.