1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Partition problem

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Mah3r, Nov 6, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Mah3r

    Mah3r Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    42
    just finished installing windows vista but during the process

    I had decided to partition my 500gb hard drive into 175gb as C

    and the rest as D or whatever but now with vista

    installed the problem is I only see the 175 but not the

    rest... what do I do, any help would be appreciated?

    edited:
    maybe I shouldn't have put this in hardware.. duh!!
     
  2. Alex Ethridge

    Alex Ethridge

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2000
    Messages:
    9,185
    I don't know about Vista--not enough familiarity. But, in Windows XP/2000, it's Start> Control Panel> Administrative Tools> Computer Management> Disk Management. In there, you first create an extended partition in the unused space and then create a logical drive within that partition--then you format it.
     
  3. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Right-click Computer > Manage > Disk Management. Right-click the unallocated space and create a new partition. Format as NTFS at the default cluster size, do a quick format unless you suspect problems with the drive, and assign a drive letter (that can be changed, if you choose).
     
  4. Mah3r

    Mah3r Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    42
    thx for the replies ill be sure too try and comment back, only im w/phone a now
     
  5. Alex Ethridge

    Alex Ethridge

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2000
    Messages:
    9,185
    Elvandil,

    In previous versions of Windows (2000/XP), you created the extended partition and then a drive within that partition. Is that not the way it is done in Vista?

    Just asking.
     
  6. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    It will probably be a primary by default. And the wizard does the partitioning and formatting in one step. I don't recall even making an extended partition in XP. That wizard was similar to the one in Vista.

    Maybe it did. You know how automatic that stuff gets after a while and I just click somewhat automatically :D.
     
  7. Alex Ethridge

    Alex Ethridge

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2000
    Messages:
    9,185
  8. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Now that I think about it, I think the wizard asks if you want to format or not. You don't need to.
     
  9. Mah3r

    Mah3r Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    42
    thanks for the help, now I have my drive back:D
     
  10. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    You can mark your own threads "solved" using the Thread Tools above.
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/648371

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice