1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

partitioned Raid-1 cloning

Discussion in 'Windows Server' started by hqnet, Nov 25, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. hqnet

    hqnet Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    102
    I have a RAID-1 (mirror) setup and one of the disks is failing,
    I will be upgrading this to larger disks and, while I do have
    proper backups, I would like to clone the current installation.

    Now, my question is about the cloning, when I had set up this
    system and took a snapshop of the fresh install, and restored
    it to test it would work fine.
    But at both stages, clonning and restoring, the raid was ´degraded´
    and required a full consistency check which took a couple of hours.

    This happened with 3 different cloning tools (acronis, clonezilla
    and ghost IIRC). I guess I was doing something wrong...

    What could that be?

    Was it the fact that I built the raid, then installed and cloned
    while I should have worked on a single drive and do the mirroring
    afterwards?

    what would the approach be now that one disk is offline?
    Do I clone from there?
    were to? A single new drive or to a new built raid?


    The system has Win 2003 server 32bits and the discs are partitioned to separate OS, Data and Paging.


    Thanks n advance!
    HQ
     
  2. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,334
    You really can't clone to a mirror as a clone is taking the exact copy partitions and all and trying to recreate that. And while the mirror is trying to replicate everything from one to the other drive you will have issues. Break the mirror and copy the data and then create the mirror after the data has been put on the main drive.
     
  3. hqnet

    hqnet Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    102
    Hi Rockn,

    hmm, in case it makes any difference: I should have been clearer at saying that I´d like to take a snapshot image of the OS´ partition and then restore that one to the new, larger target. I don´t intend to make a disk-to-disk clone.

    Having one of the current disks marked as offline in the raid surely means the mirroring is broken already? and so I should be able to clone the good disk one to a new disk (not yet in raid, but partitioned) and THEN I should tell the raid controller´s bios to "build the raid". Is that correct?

    Thank you.
     
  4. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,334
    I was under the impression that offline meant the mirror had issues. Just partition up the good disk and copy and build.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1028378

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice