partitions and

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Kerri Ann

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 18, 2003
Messages
995
ok, i bought a used computer from someone the other day that they had given up on. i'm not sure what they thought was wrong with it, but it works fine for me. system beep, bios ok, all that. when i went to delete any partitions on the hdd, it said there were no logical dos partitions to delete, no primary partitions. but then something was using 100% of it. i'm new to all this fdisk stuff, so i'm not sure what this means. is it a different os? before i did any of this, when i first booted the computer, win2k came up asking for the admin password. (i don't have it, of course)
so how is it that win2k was installed, but no partitions, not even a primary one?
also, now that i have fdisked and partitioned the drive, i tried to install win2k, and after going through all 4 win2k boot disks, it tells me something about acpi (or aspi maybe), and won't let me install from cd. ?????
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2003
Messages
16,274
Could be Linux on it as fdisk doesn't pick it up. If it is a maxtor drive you could write zeroes to the drive which would bring it back to factory spec by using this

Ok so there is w2k on it . can you set the bios to boot from cdrom ? If so then do so and reboot with either 2000 or xp cd to install.Or waht other system did you want to put on it ?
 

Kerri Ann

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 18, 2003
Messages
995
ui could put me on it, but it's a celeron 1ghz, and i assumed that it could handle 2k without problems. what do you think?
 

Kerri Ann

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 18, 2003
Messages
995
ok, acpi is advanced configuration and power interface. so that message must mean that my machine doesn't support that. F7 should disable it....
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2003
Messages
16,274
It deffinitly could. You may want to try this if you wish to try and use the current system
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2003
Messages
16,274
Just set the bios to boot from cdrom and let her go with the cd in the drive..
 

Kerri Ann

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 18, 2003
Messages
995
ok, it's all good. i just had to change the boot sequence, and there was also a setting in the bios for the acpi thing too. so i disabled that, and win2k is installed.
thanks motherboard!
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2003
Messages
16,274
You're welcome but now check in device manager for any things that need attention.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top