1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

password for wireless modem

Discussion in 'Networking' started by berylward, Jan 15, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. berylward

berylward Thread Starter

I am a novice, so need really specific instructions of where to find 'browsers etc'......I have wireless connected but someone is poaching on it, as I got a msg to say so - can you help me put a password on so this cannot continue please. I have Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition Version 2002 Service Pack 2 (my pc is Fujitsu Siemens Celeron CPU 2.80 GHz 224 MB of RAM

2. JohnWill

JohnWill Retired Moderator

Well, you didn't tell us the most important part, the make/model of the router! :D

3. berylward

berylward Thread Starter

Air Station 54 Buffalo WYR G54 is that any good?

4. DoubleHelix

DoubleHelix Banned

What kind of message are you seeing that tells you someone else is using your Internet connection? I'd be a bit suspicious since I've not heard of a wireless router generating such a message.

5. berylward

berylward Thread Starter

well, it was last week (only saw it once ) my pc was acting a bit slow and then a little window came up saying something 'like'..........sharing your computer......I then sussed that maybe the guy next door (who has just moved back into his property after vacating for last 6 mths) is prob getting freeby access from me...........not seent the msg since.....ofcourse it may not have been referring to this but I thought so

6. berylward

berylward Thread Starter

I don't think you got my reply did you - about the 'sharing the computer' message

7. geniebug

geniebug

Isnt anyone able to help this person?

8. Hughv

Hughv

9. geniebug

geniebug