1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Password protect IE

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by Prrebel, Jan 11, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Prrebel

    Prrebel Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2001
    Messages:
    681
    I have been looking in the settings for a way to put a password on the internet that doesn't ask me to supply a password at every site. How can I do this.
     
  2. jmatt

    jmatt

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2000
    Messages:
    844
    If you are saying , every time you go back to a site you have already set a password & it reasks you , the info below may help .

    If it is not that , I can't help .

    http://www.annoyances.org/exec/show/article04-004

    http://www.windows-help.net/windows98/ie50-08.shtml

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------

    http://www.pcmag.com/article/0,2997,s=1478&a=23587,00.asp

    Microsoft Internet Explorer (version 5 or later) has an AutoComplete feature that helps you
    fill in Web-based forms. If the feature is enabled, each time you submit data in a form, the
    information is encrypted and stored on your local machine. The next time you encounter a form
    field with the same internal field name, IE tries to complete that field automatically. As
    soon as you type a letter that matches the beginning of any recorded value for that field, IE
    displays a list of possible values from which you can choose. To see all saved values, you
    press the Down Arrow.

    The Internet Options applet in Control Panel lets you turn AutoComplete on and off and clear
    all its recorded data. It doesn't, however, let you clear form fields selectively or view the
    stored data. This issue's utility, AutoWhat? 2, fills the gap. With AutoWhat? 2, you can view
    what's stored for each input field name, delete incorrect values, and preload the system with
    additional values.

    AutoWhat? was originally released as a PC Magazine Extra utility in November 1999. Version 2
    adds support for Windows NT–based operating systems. AutoWhat? 2 requires Internet Explorer 5
    or later and runs under Windows 95, 98, Me, NT 4.0, 2000, and XP.
     
  3. jmatt

    jmatt

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2000
    Messages:
    844
  4. Prrebel

    Prrebel Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2001
    Messages:
    681
    Thanks jmatt, but what I am looking for is to put a password on internet access itself. when I click on the IE icon, I want a password to be needed to access the program. Can it be done, or do I need a thrid party software like NetNanny to do it?
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/112633

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice