password protection IE

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

karebear

Kari
Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 13, 2002
Messages
156
Hi,,
Does anyone know how to password protect websites on Internet Explorer? IE6 actually.
I looked all through the security area and couldn't figure it out.
thanks
karebear :rolleyes:
 

dvk01

Derek
Retired Moderator Retired Malware Specialist
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Messages
56,452
You can't

You have to set the password protection on the website itself

or are you asking how to stop users on the computer from getting to certain websites
 

karebear

Kari
Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 13, 2002
Messages
156
Yes, I want to make so when someone is trying to get to a certain website lets say "myspace" for instance,, I want it so you have to type in a password to access that site.
I also want to be able to do this on netscape browser as well. I thought it was under the
content advisor area,, but couldnt figure it out.
thanks for any help you can give.
karebear :eek:
 

dvk01

Derek
Retired Moderator Retired Malware Specialist
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Messages
56,452
There is no easy way to do this using IE or netscape or any browser

you need a separate net nanny style program that intercepts all requests and blocks all sites in a list without password being given but I don't know of any free ones taht I trust

some one might pop up with some recommendations
 

karebear

Kari
Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 13, 2002
Messages
156
Well somehow my husband managed to block a site that my kids go to
the thing that happens is when they go to the site a window pops up and
at the to it says " content advisor" and it says this page was blocked by
your approved site list. then it says " if you want to see this site, someone
must type in the supervisor password"it has a little picture of a key by this
statement. then it has a spot for a password. does this sound at all familar?
I dont want to ask him how he did it,, I want to figure it out on my own.
personal reasons.
thanks,,
karebear :confused:
 

karebear

Kari
Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 13, 2002
Messages
156
if its a program he used how do I find it on the computer,, but I doubt it is cause he
is too cheap to buy one. LoL.
thanks,,
karebear :p
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top