1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

? Patch Cable

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Cinders, Jan 25, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Cinders

    Cinders Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2002
    Messages:
    367
    Hello

    I have cable broadband and a desktop pc and a laptop pc.

    Both pc's are not used at the same time.

    If I want to access the internet via my laptop can I use a Belkin Cat 6 Black Networking cable to connect my laptop to my cable modem?

    The reason I ask is that at present I use a fairly cheap Ethernet cable (patch) for this but the connection on one end has broken. I have been offered the Belkin cable by my brother, if it is suitable for connecting as above.

    Many thanks

    Cinders
     
  2. Phoenyx

    Phoenyx

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    63
    I would think as long as it is not a cross-over cable you should have no problem using that to connect a computer to your cable modem.
     
  3. Cinders

    Cinders Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2002
    Messages:
    367
    Thank you

    It is a new cable, still boxed, it shows 'Belkin Cat 6 Snagless Networking Cable'.

    It does not show 'patch' or 'crossover'

    Advice appreciated

    Cinders
     
  4. johnpost

    johnpost

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Messages:
    317
    crossover cables would probably be labeled on the
    package and printed on the cable and i think belkin
    only makes them with a yellow jacket

    so i think you are good to go. even if it were a
    crossover cable it just wouldn't do the communicating,
    it wouldn't damage anything.
     
  5. Cinders

    Cinders Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2002
    Messages:
    367
    Thank you for your help

    Cinders
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/538205

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice