1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

In Progress Pc acting up after motherboard change, everything was ok b4

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by Dakiito, Oct 10, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Dakiito

    Dakiito Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Changed the motherboard and the psu and now my pc has started acting up

    Sometimes i would randomly get logged out and it has only happened when i had chrome open, just a bit ago when i tried to log into google i got logged out and when i logged back in i had like 30+ tabs of gmail open and 1 tab called thisisnotavirus.com open and then my desktop background has changed.

    I have checked task scheduler for weird tasks and found nothing, i ran a hitmanpro scan and nothing malicious came up

    My pc has also became noticeably slower, task manager shows nothing new.

    Have downloaded kaspersky and running a scan, will report back tommorow since it is taking a while

    speccy:
    http://speccy.piriform.com/results/0JVJN73MwOC73Lp0VzF6KeX
     
  2. Dakiito

    Dakiito Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    The wallpapers have changed from the first, blue windows logo default background to the scuba diving person background which is also one of the ones that comes with windows

    i have never before searched or been on thisisnotavirus.com and there are no community reviews on the site.

    Could it be that i just got a random motherboard instability? it was a used one and almost the same as the one i had before, but it was used.
     
  3. askey127

    askey127 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,720
    If you have Windows 10, and you changed the motherboard, Windows will no longer be activated.
    It won't allow that much hardware change before it requires you to purchase another license.
    Did nobody tell you?
    You may want to install Linux, or buy another W10 license.
     
  4. Dakiito

    Dakiito Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    KmsAuto.

    Also turns out i had a rat installed along with drivers
     
  5. askey127

    askey127 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,720
    If you install KMS, you will get more than that.
    My original suggestion still holds. - Linux or a new license.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - acting motherboard change
  1. sofialaktaren
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    227
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1217649

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice