1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

PC Bios Settings - help please

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Taza, Feb 18, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Taza

    Taza Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Messages:
    36
    I have an old Pentuim KTX computer and everytime I start it up it would present the following:
    - CMOS SETTINGS WRONG
    - CMOS DISPLAY TYPE WRONG
    I would then go through to the CMOS Setup but I'm not sure what to do, I have noticed that the time is incorrect and so I would change to the present time and save on exit. I would then go through to start up again and the following message appears:
    - NO A/: PRESENT (or something to this affect)

    I am still able to get through to Window 95 startup but 5 mins into startup and then the mouse would stop moving and the PC would appear to lockup and so I would restart and then find that nothing would happen on screen.
    I'm hoping that someone may be able to assist me as to where I should start to fix this problem.

    Thank you T.:rolleyes:
     
  2. cj_white

    cj_white

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Messages:
    333
    it sounds like your cmos battery may be dying or dead. if u go in and change all the cmos settings and u reboot and they are all messed up again then thats a pretty good indication of that problem. since its an old pc the battery might be soldered in but if its not all u have to do is pop it out and get a new one
     
  3. Taza

    Taza Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Messages:
    36
    Thank you CJ, internal parts are foriegn to me. Would you know what the CMOS battery may look like as I don't want to go poking and prodding around too much.

    Thanks again.:cool:
     
  4. n2gun

    n2gun

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2000
    Messages:
    4,168
    I agree with cj that it probably the cmos battery. Look on the board on opposite side from the slots for expansion cards and see if you see a battery similar to the type used in watches. If you see one, and it is not soldered in take it out and replace with the same one which you should be able to get at a local computer store. As cj said it good also be a solder type, if so you would have to carefully unsolder it and get a new one and solder that one in. If you are afraid to attempt it, see if you have a friend that could do it for you. If not you could probably take just the computer without the attachments to a local computer store and have them replace it for a resonable price.
     
  5. reneirwolf878

    reneirwolf878

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Messages:
    562
    Yes! FInally I find some1 who has the same problem as me! I remember a few times I'd get CMOS Setting Wrong and CMOS DIplay Type Wrong. I'd go in and the time would also be wrong. So you all think it's the CMOS battery? CAn I somehow check to see if it's almost dead? And if it almost is how much does it cost to buy a replacement?
     
  6. Taza

    Taza Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Messages:
    36
    When your PC loses significant time when the power is OFF - your CMOS battery is weak or bad and you need to replace it; your other symptoms have the same cause.

    Solution(s):
    1. Change the CMOS battery if it is in a holder and you can remove it.
    2. If your battery is soldered to the board check the manual for an auxiliary battery header and install an auxiliary battery (if possible). You may be able to rig an auxiliary battery - CAREFUL with the polarity - with rubber bands and tape. If you can find someone with board repair skills you can install a battery holder in place of the soldered in battery - CAREFUL with voltage match, too.
    3. If you cannot find a battery it is probably hidden in a Real Time Clock module, popular with early Pentium mainboards. That would be about a 28+/- pin chip about 3 times as thick as any other chip on the board. Could be Dallas, Houston Tech, Odin, Benchmarq or others - check your board and post the chip number (like DS12887A, HT12888A, ...) - there may be hope, but maybe not, too.

    Hope this helps,
    Henry

    :D
     
  7. reneirwolf878

    reneirwolf878

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Messages:
    562
    I think I found the battery. It's on the board near the bottem but I'm not gonna mess with it cause it dont know wtf to do :) I'm going to try and get my dad to talk to a friend and get him to fix it. Thanks!
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/69545

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice