Tech Support Guy banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

PC boots but doesn't post

801 views 6 replies 4 participants last post by  Macboatmaster 
#1 ·
Pc seems to be booting but doesnt post anything to the screen. I bought a new ddr3 ram and a used motherboard.
What I tried
-breadboarding
-clearing cmos
-removing battery/replacing battery
-plugging to the motherboard and gpu
-checking the sticks one by one on different slots

The psu, cpu, gpu and the monitor are fine because I checked if they worked on my old mobo so it seems like its the motherboard or ram. Any ideas on what else I can do before taking it to the repair shop (trying to avoid that due to covid).

Pc specs :
-q9550 cpu(cooler master hyper tx2)
-gtx 750ti 2gb
-gigabyte ga-g41mt-s2p
- 2x 4gb 1333 mhz ddr3 (cmx8gx3m2a1333c9)
-mx500 ssd
-corsair cx 450

#4 · (Edited)
As said, I am not a hardware expert - you will have to wait for another member to chip in.

Some suggestions.
Does the motherboard beep at start up, as even without the CPU, Ram and GPU it should at least give you POST code beeps at start up?
Try using onboard graphics (if it exists)
Make sure that the motherboard is not shorting out against the case.

Edit. I have asked for help from one of our hardware experts.

#5 · (Edited)
Pc seems to be booting but doesnt post anything to the screen. I bought a new ddr3 ram and a used motherboard.
What is NOT clear to me, is - Did this problem ALREADY exist, on the original board and ram, and THAT was why you decided to try a new board and ram
OR was the new board and ram for some manner of upgrade and it is NOW that setup, that does not post.

Although I suspect from reading further down your opening post that ALL was in order before the new board and ram

1. What was the make and full model of the old board please
2. As you have tried breadboarding it - IT IS UNLIKELY of course that the problem is shorting on the case.

3. -plugging to the motherboard and gpu