1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

PC-cillin erros after boot scan

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by LadyDragon, Apr 1, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. LadyDragon

    LadyDragon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Messages:
    114
    you know that ugly blue screen that says it's gonna check your disk if you don;t cancel it... well it appears every time I turn on my computer and the result is always the same:

    "The size of the \Program Files\Trend Micro\PC-cillin 2000\VSS8CGQL.001 entry is not valid"

    and ..."\VSS8A7OT.005 is cross-linked on allocation unit 1245188"

    any suggestions? I have e-mailed Trend Micro but as of yet have not received an answer.

    Again remember, I am a novice... go slowly with me.:confused:
     
  2. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,953
    Hiya

    Have you tried uninstalling then reinstalling PC-cillin?

    Also, you may want to run a quick online scan, just in case a virus has managed to corrupt it:

    http://housecall.antivirus.com/housecall/start_corp.asp

    Have you run the check disk when it asks you?

    Regards

    eddie
     
  3. LadyDragon

    LadyDragon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Messages:
    114
    I tried Housecall but it says that my settings are set so it can't run Active X and therefore doesn't seem to be cooperating.

    I have run checkdisk and it gives me the message I listed above.... and then nothing else. I let it go for quite a while and nothing happened, so I reset. Last time I let it run I got the same message but one additional comment... Lemme see if I can find it... I wrote it down somewhere...
    "Windows replaced bad clusters in... /VSS8CQA11.00 o name (null)."

    So where do I go from here? PC-cillin came with my computer and I don't have any disks to reload it from.

    Is there any hope for me?
     
  4. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,953
    For the ActiveX bit, try this:

    Control Panel | Internet Options. Security tab. Click Custom Settings, choose Medium, Reset, Yes. if its on Medium already, click Reset anyway.

    It sounds like you may have some bad clusters on your drive, hence the scandisk. If the virus scan is clean, see if you can leave the scandisk running. It may take a while, but its best to let it run.

    eddie
     
  5. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Even though the program came with the computer, it should be on your restore cds somewhere.

    VSS8CGQL.001

    as for that file, Eddie, what do you think about just deleting it?
     
  6. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,953
    You could try renaming it, just in case. Then, if its all okay, go back and delete it.

    Go to Find Files, and type in

    VSS8CGQL.001

    and search the entire drive. When found, rightclick and choose Rename. Rename to VSS8CGQL.OLD

    If you don't have the extensions, then do this:

    Tools | Options. View tab. Untick Hide Extensions for known file types, apply and OK.

    If the error changes to VSS8CGQL.OLD then delete it, but leave it in the bin for now ;)

    eddie
     
  7. LadyDragon

    LadyDragon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Messages:
    114
    That would probably require CDs that I never received. I bought this computer here in Taiwan and it didn't come with restore CDs, that I know of. I'll take a look in the original packaging... and we will see.

    I did a search for that file and my computer didn't find it. Huh.

    I'll attempt to be patient and leave scandisk running sometime this weekend. I can't guarantee the patience. There is too much that I NEED to do.
     
  8. LadyDragon

    LadyDragon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Messages:
    114
    I did the reset on the Security tab of Internet Options but when I went back to housecall I got the same message about Active X.

    I wonder if this is connected to another problem that I have been having. Whenever I open my browser, I notice the folder "links" in my fav. There is nothing in it and I delete it every time. Later, maybe when I open another browser window or maybe when I start it again, it is back.

    I have noticed e-mail messages that come from familiar addresses (not the account name but the location ([email protected])) that contain suspicious attachments. I also receive "message returned" e-mails stating that an E-mail I sent (which I didn't) to an account I don't know was blocked because it contained a virus.

    See any connections?
     
  9. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    The links folder always reappears, I think you can hide it, but am not sure of a way to permanently delete it. Did you follow eddie's instructions on turning ActiveX on?
     
  10. LadyDragon

    LadyDragon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Messages:
    114
    yes. it didn't work. I went back to housecall and got the same message.

    ok... that is reassuring to know about the links folder. I guess I'll just use it to organize some favs I don't use that often but dont wanna delete. Thanks
     
  11. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Check on tools/internet options/security/custom level on the active X items, you may have to put them on enable instead of prompt.
     
  12. LadyDragon

    LadyDragon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Messages:
    114
    Hi again. I let scandisk run overnight (because I could never work up enough patience to let it run while I was conscious. When I woke up and checked it has completed whatever it needed to do and had initiated Windows. Since then I have had no problems. Whenever I turn the computer on it loads windows directly.

    Huh. Imagine that. I am a dunce.
    But a greatful one.
     
  13. LadyDragon

    LadyDragon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Messages:
    114
    Ok. I set all the Active X controls to "enable" EXCEPT "Initialize and script Active X controls not marked as safe" which made me nervous.

    It still didn't work.
     
  14. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,953
    Well, at least the error problem is solved, but lets see if we can sort that website one as well.

    Can you get to all websites, and this is just the one with problems? If so, try this:

    Go to Start | Find Files and Folders

    Type in Cookies, and search the entire hard Drive.

    You're looking for a folder named Cookies. Open it, and search for these ones:

    Housecall
    TrendMicro

    Delete them

    Then try again.

    eddie
     
  15. LadyDragon

    LadyDragon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Messages:
    114
    Nope. I did as you directed, then went back to hosecall and let it go for a while without interfering. I am still getting an "x" instead of the internal window and therefor cannot proceed.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/216536

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice