Solved Pc doesn’t have Ethernet WiFi connection

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Nissan70

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 15, 2018
Messages
13
I started my pc up after a update Windows 10 and I can’t connect to internet ive tried cmd flush renew etc, reset router nothing works even tried a system restore to previous point still no luck please help
 

Fireflycph

Morten
Joined
Apr 1, 2016
Messages
1,549
Have you looked at the wifi card in device manager?

You may have to download using a ethernet cable or to a different device and then transfer via a flash drive etc.
 

Fireflycph

Morten
Joined
Apr 1, 2016
Messages
1,549
Check your device manager. Are your network cards there? Or are they under unknown devices?
 

Fireflycph

Morten
Joined
Apr 1, 2016
Messages
1,549
Yep. They/re both there. If you attach a ethernet cable do you get an ip address? Can you see any Wifi neworks at all? Not just your own.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,429
Are you using a firewall, anti-virus or security suite other than Windows Defender?
 

Fireflycph

Morten
Joined
Apr 1, 2016
Messages
1,549
Do you have another device so you can look at the config page of your router?

You may want to, as a last resort, Factory Reset, that router.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,429
There's a small chance the following will work ...

TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista through 10.

Start - All Programs - Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt. [For Windows 8 thru 10: <Windows Logo> + x - Command Prompt(Admin)]

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

Reboot the machine after all three commands; no need to boot after the 1st and 2nd.
 

Fireflycph

Morten
Joined
Apr 1, 2016
Messages
1,549
if you do a command prompt, with the ethernet cable connected, then type "ipconfig /all" no quote marks. Can you post a pic of all the text?
 

Fireflycph

Morten
Joined
Apr 1, 2016
Messages
1,549
OK. So your router doesn't give out any DHCP addresses. If you can't reach it with a different device? I'll suggest you reset it to factory default.

If you can access it with a different device, then check the LAN\DHCP section.

Remember that you'll have to redo any configuration you ever did to it. Such as SSID, passwords and any port forwarding. If you can access it from another device, it's a good idea to backup the configuration.

What make/model router do you have?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top