1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved Pc doesn’t have Ethernet WiFi connection

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Nissan70, Nov 15, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Nissan70

    Nissan70 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2018
    Messages:
    13
    I started my pc up after a update Windows 10 and I can’t connect to internet ive tried cmd flush renew etc, reset router nothing works even tried a system restore to previous point still no luck please help
     
  2. Fireflycph

    Fireflycph

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2016
    Messages:
    1,083
    First Name:
    Morten
    Have you looked at the wifi card in device manager?

    You may have to download using a ethernet cable or to a different device and then transfer via a flash drive etc.
     
  3. Nissan70

    Nissan70 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2018
    Messages:
    13
    my Ethernet doesn’t worth either
     
  4. Fireflycph

    Fireflycph

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2016
    Messages:
    1,083
    First Name:
    Morten
    Check your device manager. Are your network cards there? Or are they under unknown devices?
     
  5. Nissan70

    Nissan70 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2018
    Messages:
    13
    My wireless is there
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Fireflycph

    Fireflycph

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2016
    Messages:
    1,083
    First Name:
    Morten
    Yep. They/re both there. If you attach a ethernet cable do you get an ip address? Can you see any Wifi neworks at all? Not just your own.
     
  7. Nissan70

    Nissan70 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2018
    Messages:
    13
    No ip when attached and I can see other WiFi networks
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,567
    First Name:
    Terry
    Are you using a firewall, anti-virus or security suite other than Windows Defender?
     
  9. Nissan70

    Nissan70 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2018
    Messages:
    13
    Just windows defender
     
  10. Fireflycph

    Fireflycph

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2016
    Messages:
    1,083
    First Name:
    Morten
    Do you have another device so you can look at the config page of your router?

    You may want to, as a last resort, Factory Reset, that router.
     
  11. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,567
    First Name:
    Terry
    There's a small chance the following will work ...

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista through 10.

    Start - All Programs - Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt. [For Windows 8 thru 10: <Windows Logo> + x - Command Prompt(Admin)]

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine after all three commands; no need to boot after the 1st and 2nd.
     
  12. Nissan70

    Nissan70 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2018
    Messages:
    13
    Still hasn’t worked
     
  13. Fireflycph

    Fireflycph

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2016
    Messages:
    1,083
    First Name:
    Morten
    if you do a command prompt, with the ethernet cable connected, then type "ipconfig /all" no quote marks. Can you post a pic of all the text?
     
  14. Nissan70

    Nissan70 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2018
    Messages:
    13
    There you go
     

    Attached Files:

  15. Fireflycph

    Fireflycph

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2016
    Messages:
    1,083
    First Name:
    Morten
    OK. So your router doesn't give out any DHCP addresses. If you can't reach it with a different device? I'll suggest you reset it to factory default.

    If you can access it with a different device, then check the LAN\DHCP section.

    Remember that you'll have to redo any configuration you ever did to it. Such as SSID, passwords and any port forwarding. If you can access it from another device, it's a good idea to backup the configuration.

    What make/model router do you have?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1219183

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice