1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

PC failing to boot

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by TheRowan, Sep 21, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. TheRowan

    TheRowan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Hi,
    My pc has just started to refuse to boot up after I switch it off. I press the start button and it begins to boot then stops - nothing happens, the green power light is on, but no activity. Sometimes I can unplug the power pack and try again and it works (like now). Whilst I was wondering what was up, I inserted a cd to back-up my precious files...as the tray closed the pc switched itself off. When I tried to boot up I got a message asking me to insert a boot disk & press "a key" and had to disconnect it from the power supply. I'm thinking the problem is with the cd/dvd drive "DVD-RAM Drive D" which is named as the first call in the boot sequence...I cannot guarantee to get into the BIOS to change the sequence and wondered if there was another way?
    I would be grateful for any input and help you have to offer, thanks

    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows XP Professional, Service Pack 3, 32 bit
    Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5000+, x86 Family 15 Model 107 Stepping 2
    Processor Count: 2
    RAM: 1791 Mb
    Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce 7050 PV / NVIDIA nForce 630a, 512 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 305234 MB, Free - 269685 MB;
    Motherboard: ECS, GeForce7050M-M
    Antivirus: Kaspersky Internet Security, Updated: Yes, On-Demand Scanner: Enabled
     
  2. black-wolf

    black-wolf

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,820
    Sounds like a failing PSU. Do you have another one that you can use to test with?
     
  3. TheRowan

    TheRowan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks for the advice, but would a failing PSU cause the system to crash when I insert a cd or attempt to power up?
     
  4. black-wolf

    black-wolf

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,820
    Yes it could.
     
  5. TheRowan

    TheRowan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Oh dear, so I'll have to replace the PSU...
    This is not a gaming computer - I mainly use it for wordprocessing, some photo editing, listening to music, etc. I imagine the current power unit is not a very expensive one (pc was built for me by a small local company) and wonder if you could advise on a reliable make/model that won't break the bank? And, as I have no experience of tinkering inside the tower, how to go about fitting the replacement.
    As an aside, I've been too scared to close it down and the pc has been running for 36 hours - should I switch it off in case the ailing power unit blows, or worse?
    Thanks again for your help
     
  6. black-wolf

    black-wolf

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,820
  7. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
    would prefer to see a 550w or better in it

    corsir hx tx ax models only
    seasonic
    xfx
     
  8. jamesx121

    jamesx121

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    903
    as far as replacing the PSU.
    just take your time . remove the new PSU from the box.
    as a beginner you will notice the psu cables have different style connectors on them.
    start with your peripherals first. after unplug computer from the wall find your harddrive
    it will have a data cable to motherboard and one of the psu cables will run to it.
    same psu cable might also run to your DVD/CD drive (which also has a data cable) .
    once you see which type of connector is used take a piece of tape and write HH & DVD drive
    on it.
    find the same style cable / connectors on the new psu and place the tape on the new psu cable.
    now remove the old psu cable from the harddrive and dvd/cd drive.
    same old psu cable might be hooked up to the case fans as well.
    newer builds have case fans hooked up to the motherboard.
    if case fans are hooked to psu cable this connector is called molex
    you will have more of these style connectors than any other.
    go ahead and unhook case fans if hooked to psu cable
    some psu cables come marked from the factory on what each connector plug is for.
    my thermaltake did not.
    find the psu cable that goes to the cpu power port. should be right next to the cpu
    be very careful and pull this connector loose from the motherboard.
    find the connector on the new psu cable that looks exactly like it.
    mark with tape- CPU power.
    next is the trickiest part. the motherboard power cable connector from what I have seen does not want to come out
    very easy. it has a safety clip on one side of it. this is the biggest connector and the psu should
    only have one. might have to use a flat screw driver to very gently hold out the clip so connector
    will slide out of motherboard.
    okay so should now have all the old psu connectors unhooked from system
    might have to lay up over the top of case to have out of your way.
    that leaves the 4 mounting screws holding psu to back of case.
    do not let psu fall down in case (if top mounted) when removing screws.
    when removing psu unscrew the 4 screws last

    with new psu cable connectors marked / labeled
    place new psu in slot and screw the 4 screws back in first.
    should have new screws in box but if not you still have old screws.
    here is hook up order.
    1st hook up cable connector next to cpu (cpu power).
    2nd hook up cable connector to motherboard power.
    3rd this is where each build is different.
    is new psu modular?? how many cables come out of new psu.
    does it have a cable just for sata style hardrives???
    continued????
     
  9. jamesx121

    jamesx121

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    903
    :I need more information??? :eek:
    you didn't say if your harddrive is sata or ide????
    do you have more than one harddrive (raid setup)
    is your dvd/cd drive sata or ide???
    the graphics card you listed is a chipset according to google.

    so I don't know if your graphics card has a separate psu cable hooked to it???
    pci-e2.0 and above do.
    but anyway
    hook up harddrive and dvd/cd drive next.
    if more than one cable with sata connectors-- put your harddrive on one cable
    and the dvd/cd drive on the other cable.
    if sata drive style--use sata connectors on the psu cable.
    if not (ide drive style)then they will take a molex connector.
    very carefully the slot for sata power on the back of a sata style harddrive and dvd/cd drive
    are easy to break.
    if your Nvidia/Radeon card needs a psu cable hook it up now.
    only one connector style will fit graphics cards.
    that leaves case fans and any other secondary pieces that need a molex hook up.
    as you have probably noticed you have a lot of cable.
    look up something called psu cable management in google.
    maybe give you ideas --plus
    if psu is not modular and your drives are ide style than you will have to figure out how you want to run
    the molex cable connectors between multiple devices in a chain.

    my post is real long:eek:
    try this first :cool:
    if you have DSL or Broadband Internet look up computer building and PSU installing/ remove
    on youtube.
    it seems all the manufactures are putting how to videos now on Youtube.
    from ASUS (motherboards)
    Antec (computer cases)
    to Zalman (cpu cooler / heatsinks)
     
  10. TheRowan

    TheRowan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    5
     
  11. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
    good choice
     
  12. black-wolf

    black-wolf

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,820
    That is a very good PSU.
     
  13. jamesx121

    jamesx121

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    903
    okay since your harddrive and dvd/cd drive are ide
    they will each have a wide flat ribbon style data cable
    they will both hook up with the molex connectors on the psu cable
    since you have ide drives
    I bet your case fans also hook up the molex connectors from the psu cables

    the psu you linked 2
    I would leave the Sata power cables in the box since you don't need them
     
  14. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    32,679
    While I agree that it is most likely a failing pw supply, I would also give the mb a very close inspection with a bright light. Look for any capacitors that look like the pics below. That mb is at least 3 generations old and it is an ecs board as well [ecs is not noted for being a quality board maker]

    In addition to watching a video on swapping pw supplies, you should also take some pictures of the inside of the case before you begin. This way if you have a question regarding routing of leads, you can refer to the pic.
     

    Attached Files:

  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1069837