Pc Freezes during Windows 7 Installation.

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

spazzo246

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 20, 2011
Messages
31
Just today I was formatting my brothers laptop. Upon doing a fresh install of windows 7, Mid way through installation the pc would freeze. At the same time of this freeze I Noticed that there were small graphical glitches and pixels appearing on the screen. Heres a link to a video i recorded (http://www.filedropper.com/vid201501161503251)

Before I decided to format and fresh install the PC would work fine and it would load windows ok with no problems/graphical glitches.

I tried to force power off the laptop and do the install again, but it would either black screen or do the same thing as listed above.. Im not to sure what may be causing this problem.
 

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
24,593
What is the make and full model of the laptop please


Was Windows 7 the OS that was on the laptop before your install


If so what was the reason for the format and install - were there already problems and if so what please


Is the install from a Microsoft DVD
A copied DVD if so from where please
A reinstallation disc from the laptop manufacturer
etc.


Are you installing to unallocated space or to a partition
 
Joined
Aug 28, 2013
Messages
159
Maybe some slight damage to the disc. I've had good luck using ImgBurn (free) in such cases to make a copy (Create image file from disc). Under Read errors mine is set for 10 retries (software) and Hardware retries is set to 3. Turn verify on and try making an iso.
 

spazzo246

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 20, 2011
Messages
31
Before I go any further Its my cousins computer that I am fixing. Didnt want to make things more complicated

What is the make and full model of the laptop please
Asus x52n

Was Windows 7 the OS that was on the laptop before your install
Yes

If so what was the reason for the format and install - were there already problems and if so what please
She forgot her windows password and her Pc needed a clean up so I decided to format. I tried multiple password recovery measures but there was only her account (which she forgot the password to) and the Guest Account. There were no problems before

Is the install from a Microsoft DVD
NO

A copied DVD if so from where please
From my brothers Pc. The one he used when he installed windows.

A reinstallation disc from the laptop manufacturer
NO

Are you installing to unallocated space or to a partition
Its to a Partition

What i also noticied is that she wasnt using the correct charger for the laptop. She is using a Toshiba charger which outputs 4.7 amps and the laptop input is 3.42 amps.

Not sure if this has to do with anything. Could to much power cause certain pc components to become damaged?

Hope this helps
 

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
24,593
Is it the same version of 7 as was on the laptop
eg Windows 7 Home Premium for example and the same bit


The error is not indicative of the charger and if it has been OK with the Toshiba charger for sometime - then of course there is even less reason to suspect that is anything connected with the cause.
It is however unwise to use other than the "original charger" or an OEM specification - the critical aspect being the voltage it supplies at a given resistance of the charging circuit and battery on the Asus.
 

spazzo246

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 20, 2011
Messages
31
Is it the same version of 7 as was one the laptop
eg Windows 7 Home Premium for example and the same bit


The error is not indicative of the charger and if it has been OK with the Toshiba charger for sometime - then of course there is even less reason to suspect that is anything connected with the cause.
It is however unwise to use other than the "original charger" or an OEM specification - the critical aspect being the voltage it supplies at a given resistance of the charging circuit and battery on the Asus.
im not to sure which version of windows 7 was on there originally. Im upgrading it to windows Ultimate. (I dont believe there was windows ultimate on there originally)
 

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
24,593
How please are you going to accomplish that -
is the product key - licence available for use on this computer


Sorry about any confusion
I thought this was YOUR brothers laptop = what has then confused me is that you say

She forgot her windows password and her Pc needed a clean up so I decided to format. I tried multiple password recovery measures but there was only her account (which she forgot the password to) and the Guest Account. There were no problems before
so I apologise if I have misunderstood the situation.

If the Windows 7 that you are trying to install - by way of the licence for it, is IN USE on another computer then it cannot of course be installed on this one.

Some OEM installation discs will NOT install on another OEM computer.

I would try if you are able to use that version and licence key on this computer an install to ONE unallocated space for the whole drive

Windows will sort the partitions for you.

If the disc is a copy of a disc then as previously mentioned the burn of the copy may be faulty


Installation
http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/1649-clean-install-windows-7-a.html


http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/219487-clean-reinstall-factory-oem-windows-7-a.html
 

spazzo246

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 20, 2011
Messages
31
My methods are probably very unethical, But I am using a torrented version of Windows ultimate, I have used this same version many times in the past and it has worked fine with no problems
 

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
24,593
Sorry


I admire your honesty, as you have saved me wasting my time


I will ask for the topic to be closed as this site does not condone the use of any such methods OR provide any help in connection with them


Please see our rules
http://www.techguy.org/rules.html


As I said your honesty is appreciated.
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
Thread closed, we do not provide any assistance to those using pirated software.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top