1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

PC freezes on startup

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Jim418, Apr 6, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Jim418

    Jim418 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    My PC (HP a6634f) has just started freezing on startup. It stops at a blue splash screen that says HP Invent and has several F-key options: http://www.sevenforums.com/attachments/customization/13681-hp-start-up-screen-c01413989.jpg

    None of the F-keys work (as in hitting those keys doesn't do anything).

    So far I've
    • disconnected every peripheral other than HDD (DVD drives, card readers, front panel USB/firewire)
    • switch the graphics card back to original
    • removed 2 sticks of RAM (leaving 2), then removed the other 2 (leaving 2)
    These changes had no impact. I did not make any recent changes to my hardware or software.

    Help!
     
  2. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Did this just happen or did you change something?

    switch the graphics card back to original
     
  3. Jim418

    Jim418 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    I didn't change anything (just realized I had left that out and added it to the first post)

    Switching the card back to original was one of the things I tried to see if my replacement graphics card was the problem area.
     
  4. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Does this PC have a integrated Graphics card?
     
  5. Jim418

    Jim418 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    17
  6. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Specs seem to say it has....I would take out the Video card and try the integrated graphics.......as first inline to try
     
  7. Jim418

    Jim418 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    I'll try that when I get home.

    With the replacement card (not the original card that came with the PC), when I start the PC it would flash the video card "specs" in the top left before the HP Invent blue screen. It has always done that and continues to do that even now. Not sure that is an indicator that it isn't the problem, but thought I would note it anyways.
     
  8. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Understood.......but nice to eliminate it........can you get into Bios?
     
  9. Jim418

    Jim418 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    If that is where you get by hitting F8 on startup, no luck there either.

    Getting worried it is one of the motherboard or HDD.
     
  10. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    More like to be HDD...but you never know.....
     
  11. Jim418

    Jim418 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    I'll try removing the graphics card first, but I do have an external HD enclosure that I could pop it into to check that out.

    I've also read that the powersupply could cause this sort of problem?
     
  12. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Yes it can.....you could run a chkdsk /r on that Hdd
     
  13. Jim418

    Jim418 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    So I put the HDD in the external enclosure and connected to this laptop via USB and it doesn't recognize it. I switched it back to the DVD drive that was in the external enclosure and it did recognize the DVD drive. So it isn't the external enclosure.

    The HDD is spinning (I can hear and feel it).

    Comments? The unit is about 14 months old (2 months past the 1 year warranty of course)`
     
  14. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    I would if you can try it on another PC.......
     
  15. Jim418

    Jim418 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    I don't have another desktop in the home, but could see if I can get someone to help me out.

    Anything else I should try in the meantime?

    The motherboard does have a VGA port but it is covered with a piece of plastic that says "Do Not Remove".
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/915130

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice