1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Pc freezes on Windows startup

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Jkrolling, Oct 18, 2019.

Advertisement
  1. Jkrolling

    Jkrolling Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    So I just reset my BIOS settings to default and tried to start my pc up. It then froze (dots stopped moving). I don't know what to do.
     
  2. SeanLaurence

    SeanLaurence

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2019
    Messages:
    493
    First Name:
    Sean
    You can start by posting your configuration, especially your motherboard and bios revision.
    There may be "safe" BIOS setting you can try.
    Why did you reset your Bios settings anyway?
     
  3. Jkrolling

    Jkrolling Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    I'm using a gigabyte ga-p55a-ud3 Rev 1 and I don't know what you mean by configuration? Everything is set to default. My bios version is F3
     
  4. SeanLaurence

    SeanLaurence

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2019
    Messages:
    493
    First Name:
    Sean
    Similar to a motherboard that I own.
    First
    Check the Hard disk interface in the BIOS. It may be that it should be AHCI and is set to IDE or vice versa.
    Second
    There is also a fail-safe default you can use.
     
  5. Jkrolling

    Jkrolling Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    I have tried using fail safe and optimizer no luck
     
  6. Jkrolling

    Jkrolling Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    I don't knwo how to check the hard disk interface
     
  7. SeanLaurence

    SeanLaurence

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2019
    Messages:
    493
    First Name:
    Sean
    It should be in the bios settings somewhere, I don't have a manual to point you directly to it. Probably labeled something like "SATA mode".
     
  8. lynx1021

    lynx1021

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    2,375
    Under Integrated Peripherals in BIOS you need to have
    PCH SATA Control Mode [IDE] =Set for AHCI
    SATA Port0-3 Native Mode [Enabled] =Enabled.
     
  9. lynx1021

    lynx1021

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    2,375
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2019
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1234411

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice