PC Freezing

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Gram123

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 15, 2001
Messages
1,829
Hi.
I am having a little trouble with my PC. Basically, it is locking up forcing me to switch the power off and then restarting.
(this isn't the same PC that had the trojan problems a while back).

The PC is a AMD Athlon 1Ghz, 384Mb RAM, Win 98.
The problem occurs when I attempt to open certain web pages, particularly Yahoo.
The PC will just freeze, although the fans continue to whirr away, the mouse and keyboard are entirely ineffective.
The problem doesn't occur after any specific amount of time - sometimes immediately after logging on, sometimes after a couple of hours. It has not occurred unless I've been on the internet, and as I say, it appears to happen only on certain web pages - perhaps pages that have a lot of info? Not sure.

I have ran an AV check at HouseCall (clean), but I have a sneaking suspicion that it is not a viral problem, rather some loose bit of hardware or memory failure or somesuch.
The cables all seem secure (and they're all pretty new), so unless it's a loose card or memory strip or something, I've ran out of ideas.

Any help?

Gram
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2001
Messages
278
when mine gets like that I defrag and if that does not work I have to reformat that fixes mine every time but maybe someone knows something better
 
Joined
Oct 14, 2001
Messages
2,218
You probably need to run a full maintenance program ... delete the trash & cache needs dumping ... also you might should run ad-aware for spyware.
then again it may be to many items in your startup as well.

try all those & see what happens
 

Gram123

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 15, 2001
Messages
1,829
Savvy,

The PC is pretty new. Well, it's 6 months old, but in that time, I've robably only used it for 20-30 hours total.

THe reason I connected to the internet now (i.e. yesterday) is becaus the other PC I'm using cannot connect, due to the wonderful Windows XP upgrade my brother got for Xmas...

Anyway, I cleared out all temp files, temp internet files & history. Ad-Aware found nothing and there's only about 6 items in my msconfig list - Explorer, Sys Tray, ScanReg, my ISP software, mouse software and PTSnoop.

From a previous post:
PTSNOOP is a token program that waits for a program to request the COM port to be opened. Then it makes sure that the modem drivers get loaded if they are not.
PTSNOOP can be found with several different modems, such as the MICOM HSP PCTEL and EPS Technology COMM WAVE PCMCIA modems. It is not mandatory for proper operation, and the manufacturers list removal of PTSNOOP in various steps of their troubleshooting procedures.
I also had a file called Reboot.exe in the Startup folder, which I've since disabled. I don't think I ever found out what this was, but the problem was occurring before and after I removed it. Maybe I should run it, just to see?

Gram
 
Joined
Oct 14, 2001
Messages
2,218
Two descriptions I've come across - both valid as far as I can see :-
(1) Program installed with some modems that monitors the COM ports for the modem driver. Not needed from what I've read - may need a registry edit to get rid of it
(2) Backdoor trojan virus that copies itself as PTSNOOP.EXE -see here for more info...
http://www.f-secure.com/v-descs/ptsnoop.shtml
 
Joined
Oct 14, 2001
Messages
2,218
Gram what are you doing at the time this happens.. mostly? Is it while on IE... or at desktop?
 
Joined
Oct 14, 2001
Messages
2,218
If freezing occurs while on the internet -

Check for unwanted wsock32.dll 's
Use Find to look for Wsock32.dll 's
Type in Wsock
Keep the Wsock32.dll &Wsock32n.dll in your Windows\System
And rename others oldwsock32.dll
If windows will not let you rename that wsock32dll
Saying"Windows is using this file can't rename"
This might be the problem and cause your Internet to freeze.
Because Windows should just be using the wsock32.dll in your windows\system
Bootup in safe-mode and rename that wsock.dll to oldwsock32.dll.
 
Joined
Oct 14, 2001
Messages
2,218
also have you added any new RAM chips?

I also have read several statements that its a problem in the mobo
 

Gram123

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 15, 2001
Messages
1,829
Savvy,

1) These were found:

dpnwsock.dll
Dpwsock.dll
Dpwsockx.dll
Mswsock.dll
Wsock.vxd
Wsock2.vxd
Wsock32.dll
Wsock32n.dll

2) I've disabled PTSnoop in msconfig, but I'm not sure about how to remove it from the registry - i.e. where will it be?

3) Erm... what patches and critical updates exactly? Doh!

4) Yes, always on IE, using the ISP "gearbox" software when the freeze occurs.

5) Yes, I originally had 128Mb RAM. I added another 128Mb RAM immediately, later removed it and inserted a 256Mb strip (November). New total 384Mb. However, I didn't have internet connection up until yesterday.

Phew! Lotsa questions, lotsa answers...
My first concern then, seems to be "Get the neccesary patches and updates", followed by "Remove PTSnoop from Registry".

Gram


Gram
 

Gram123

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 15, 2001
Messages
1,829
stanggt2 - unfortunately that's not an option. Both are internal modems, and there's no way my brother would let me have his.

Gram
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2001
Messages
278
I think she is talking about your windows 98 update The easiest way is to click on start button then go to windows update at the top but you need to be on the net it will test what you need and put all the stuff in one file to download But I guess this will only work if your computer does not freeze up
 

Gram123

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 15, 2001
Messages
1,829
Yeah, I guess so.
I've just installed IE6, so that's a start.
the thing is, I have WXP for this machine too, but I don't want to install it unitl I know I won't have the problems my brother's currently having.

Curiously enough, I haven't had the freeze since I started this thread...

Maybe just having my PC sat in a box for the best part of 6 months has just slowed the old fella down and he needs to warm up...
Anyway, I'll crack on with the Windows update thing.
Gram
 
Joined
Oct 14, 2001
Messages
2,218
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top