1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

PC hangs after adding AGP card

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by JustC, May 17, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. JustC

    JustC Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    hey guys.
    I got the weirdest problem I have ever encountered... :confused:

    After I connect an AGP card, The PC just hangs in windows.
    but sometimes it doesn't boot all the way and hangs when I am still getting a black screen at boot, then the PC giving me an Alarm sound.

    And btw... I got the latest BIOS upgrade...
    Any ideas?

    Here are the specs:

    Processor
    Model : Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.00GHz
    Speed : 3.03GHz
    Cores per Processor : 1 Unit(s)
    Threads per Core : 2 Unit(s)
    Internal Data Cache : 16kB Synchronous, Write-Thru, 8-way set, 64 byte line size, 2 threads sharing
    L2 On-board Cache : 1MB ECC Synchronous, ATC, 8-way set, 64 byte line size, 2 lines per sector, 2 threads sharing

    Mainboard
    Bus(es) : ISA PCI IMB USB i2c/SMBus
    MP Support : 1 Processor(s)
    MP APIC : Yes
    System BIOS : Phoenix Technologies, LTD 6.00 PG
    Mainboard : I865G
    Total Memory : 1008MB DDR-SDRAM

    Chipset 1
    Model : Intel Corporation 82865G/PE/P, 82848P DRAM Controller / Host-Hub Interface
    Front Side Bus Speed : 4x 202MHz (808MHz data rate)
    Total Memory : 1GB DDR-SDRAM
    Shared Memory : 16MB
    Memory Bus Speed : 2x 202MHz (404MHz data rate)

    Video System
    Monitor/Panel : Default Monitor
    Adapter : Intel(R) 82865G Graphics Controller

    Physical Storage Devices
    Hard Disk : IC35L040AVVN07-0 (37GB)
    Hard Disk : WDC WD1600JB-00REA0 (149GB)
    CD-ROM/DVD : BENQ DVD DD DW1620 (CD 40X Rd, 40X Wr) (DVD 5X Rd, 5X Wr)
    CD-ROM/DVD : LITE-ON CD-ROM LTN-529S (CD 52X Rd)

    Peripherals
    Serial/Parallel Port(s) : 2 COM / 1 LPT
    USB Controller/Hub : Intel(R) 82801EB USB Universal Host Controller - 24D2

    MultiMedia Device(s)
    Device : MPU-401 Compatible MIDI Device
    Device : Standard Game Port
    Device : C-Media AC97 Audio Device

    Power Management
    Mains (AC) Line Status : On-Line

    Operating System(s)
    Windows System : Microsoft Windows XP/2002 Professional 5.01.2600 (Service Pack 2)
    Platform Compliance : Win32 x86

    Network Services
    Adapter : Realtek RTL8139 Family PCI Fast Ethernet NIC


    I'd appreciate it if anyone could suggest an Idea. :)
     
  2. Rich-M

    Rich-M

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    22,443
    Card must either be defective or incompatible. Is it old or new? There are 2 different types of agp where new ones are 1.5 volt and older are 3.3...they don't mix well. The other possibility is in the bios. Either auto select which would allow ago card to be seen and given priority or
    disable onboard video.
     
  3. JustC

    JustC Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    I have a FX 5500, with it I get both types of error... the boot one and the Windows one.
    I also tried a new 7600 ( I tried it at a store ), then I got the alarm signal.

    I have tried disabling the Onboard... but with no luck.
    Also, after a bit research I have found that the Motherboard is capable of operating with 2 cards, for 2 monitors.
     
  4. JustC

    JustC Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Well...:confused:
    I just plugged in an old ATI Xpert2000, and it works just great...
    I got to mention that the Nvidia FX5500 works just fine on the other PC.
     
  5. Rich-M

    Rich-M

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    22,443
    I don't know what it is with video cards lately, but I plugged in 5 brand new ones and one used pull from working pc to a Gigabyte
    new socket 775 board and only one worked. Three were Asus that did not work at all.
    I thought I was losing it. Tried every possible setting in bios as it has onboard and board is also brand new.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/574571

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice