1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

PC is connected to wireless network, but can't connect to Internet

Discussion in 'Networking' started by neal1973, Dec 5, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. neal1973

    neal1973 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    I have a home wireless network using a Netgear DG834G v2 router.

    Until recently, the only computer using the network was my MacBook Pro.

    My new lodger has a PC laptop running Vista Home edition, so I set it up to access my network and could access the Internet fine, no problems.

    I realised that she had never updated her OS with Software Update, so I set the PC to download all the necessary updates.

    Once this had finished, she could no longer get Internet access on her PC.

    The PC is still connected to my network with 100% signal strength.

    I have tried to see if there is a router setting I need to change, but I can't make sense of the jargon or see any settings on my router that can be changed, and I don't see how it can be the router as it worked before the Windows updates.

    I have banged my head against a brick wall long enough. Any ideas?

    Many thanks in advance for your help!!
     
  2. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    Hi:Any error msgs ?

    Let's see this from the problem pc.

    Let’s take a look at the status of the network adapters

    Device manager:

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type devmgmt.msc

    Please respond to all the following steps.
    1. Under Network adapters, please tell me all the devices listed.
    2. Are there any devices under Network adapters that have a red x displayed?
    3. Also, are there any devices anywhere in the Device Manager display with yellow ? or ! displayed?
    4. Under general tab should be enabled and working properly.
    5. If error code,what is it ?

    And this:
    From a Johnwill post on the Networking Forum


    Try these simple tests.

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD (COMMAND for W98/WME) to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands one at a time, followed by the Enter key:

    NOTE: For the items below surrounded with < >, see comments below for the actual information content, they are value substitutions from the previous IPCONFIG command output! Do NOT type <computer_IP_address> into the command, that won't work. Also, the < and > in the text is to identify the parameters, they are also NOT used in the actual commands.

    Do NOT include the <> either, they're just to identify the values for substitution.

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    PING <computer_IP_address>

    PING <default_gateway_address>

    PING <dns_servers>

    PING 74.125.45.100

    PING yahoo.com

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    <computer_IP_address> - The IP Address of your computer, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above. (For Vista/Win7, the IPv4 Address)

    <default_gateway_address> - The IP address of the Default Gateway, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

    <dns_servers> - The IP address of the first (or only) address for DNS Servers, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.



    This will see if the network adapters seem to be in connected status and
    How your pc sees it's network environment.
     
  3. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,592
    Good chance there's a firewall or security suite that's incompatible with an update or got corrupted during the update. If there is one best to uninstall it completely and then reinstall it after testing.

    Also possible that the following are needed ...

    (From a JohnWill post)

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista or 7.

    Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.
     
  4. neal1973

    neal1973 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks TerryNet.

    Can you tell me how to uninstall the security updates? That feels like the issue to me.

    I will also try to post the ipconfig /all data.

    I just tried your Command Prompt suggestions but got the following error messages for each:

    netsh winsock reset catalog
    The requested operation requires elevation

    netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log
    The following command was not found: int ipv4 reset reset.log
    netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log
    The following command was not found: int ipv6 reset reset.log




    05-Dec-2009, 09:59 PM #3
    Good chance there's a firewall or security suite that's incompatible with an update or got corrupted during the update. If there is one best to uninstall it completely and then reinstall it after testing.

    Also possible that the following are needed ...

    (From a JohnWill post)

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista or 7.

    Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.
     
  5. neal1973

    neal1973 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    hi pedroguy - thanks so much for your detailed response. see answers below in CAPS, and command prompt data at the bottom of the post.


     
  6. neal1973

    neal1973 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Errr.... for some reason I am able to download Windows updates.

    Just checked my update history to see if there are any security fixes that I might need to uninstall.

    In addition to all the updates on 21/11/09, when the problem started, there are various updates for 6/12/09, and as I type I am downloading additional Windows updates.

    When I launch Firefox I still can't get any Internet access.

    What the....????

    Here is my ipconfig data...

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Emily-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8187B Wireless 802.11b/g 54Mbp
    s USB 2.0 Network Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-16-44-E6-8E-CB
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::9449:5bab:beeb:16b4%11(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.4(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 06 December 2009 03:24:09
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 07 December 2009 03:24:09
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 251663940
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-10-5C-B2-D9-00-03-0D-A8-35-18

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : SiS191 Ethernet Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-03-0D-A8-33-15
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{B0368BEA-F0C8-45B2-BD17-9A730F715
    E74}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 13:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{1533290B-BB13-4AE0-BC5B-C23E1C8AC
    21E}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    C:\Users\Emily>ping 192.168.0.4

    Pinging 192.168.0.4 with 32 bytes of data:
    General failure.
    General failure.
    General failure.
    General failure.

    Ping statistics for 192.168.0.4:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

    C:\Users\Emily>ping 192.168.0.1

    Pinging 192.168.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=6ms TTL=255
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=255
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=255
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=255

    Ping statistics for 192.168.0.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 2ms, Maximum = 6ms, Average = 3ms

    C:\Users\Emily>ping 74.125.45.100

    Pinging 74.125.45.100 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 74.125.45.100: bytes=32 time=120ms TTL=52
    Reply from 74.125.45.100: bytes=32 time=117ms TTL=52
    Reply from 74.125.45.100: bytes=32 time=118ms TTL=52
    Reply from 74.125.45.100: bytes=32 time=118ms TTL=52

    Ping statistics for 74.125.45.100:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 117ms, Maximum = 120ms, Average = 118ms

    C:\Users\Emily>ping yahoo.com

    Pinging yahoo.com [209.131.36.159] with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 209.131.36.159: bytes=32 time=181ms TTL=55
    Reply from 209.131.36.159: bytes=32 time=179ms TTL=55
    Reply from 209.131.36.159: bytes=32 time=180ms TTL=55
    Reply from 209.131.36.159: bytes=32 time=180ms TTL=55

    Ping statistics for 209.131.36.159:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 179ms, Maximum = 181ms, Average = 180ms
     
  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,592
    Sorry! I hate it when somebody uses a pronoun incorrectly, and this time I definitely did so. :( I meant to uninstall the firewall or security suite. That is what probably got corrupted or misconfigured by some random Windows update.

    Your response to pedroguy--pings show internet access and DNS is working--is another indication that the problem is a need for the stack/WINSOCK repairs or to get a firewall straightened out.

    Before you ran the netsh commands I think you missed:

    If you don't do that you will get "needs elevation."
     
  8. neal1973

    neal1973 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    thanks trrynet.

    i have done the stack/winsock repairs but no joy.

    how do i uninstall the firewall? (if that is what i need to do)



     
  9. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,592
    To uninstall a firewall or security suite (not the firewall built into Windows) use Start - Control Panel - Programs and Features. Symantec (Norton) and McAfee also have Rermoval Tools to clean up after their respective applications.
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/883066