1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

PC keeps "blinking" when I try to power on. Doesn't boot up.

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Key_Notes88, Nov 13, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Key_Notes88

Key_Notes88 Thread Starter

Hey all, I'm new to Techguy forums and new to building/fixing my own pc. Let me start by labeling my parts (nothing overclocked).

CPU - Intel Core i7-930 2.8GHz LGA 1366 130W Quad-Core
    Graphic Cards - (2x-SLI) MSI 470GTX 1280MB 320-bit GDDR5 PCI
    Board - EVGA E758-A1 3-Way SLI (x16/x16/x8) LGA 1366 Intel X58 ATX Intel Motherboard
    Case - COOLER MASTER RC-690-KKN1-GP Black SECC
    HardDrive - SAMSUNG Spinpoint F3 HD103SJ 1TB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5"
    PSU - SPARKLE Gold Class GW-EPS1250DA 1250W ATX12V / EPS12V
    RAM - G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1866 (PC3 14900)

Oh the history I've had with this machine. I bought all these parts new back in August of 2010. To start off I've RMA'd both video cards, one back in September of 2010 and the other I had to RMA last month. I had to RMA them because no video was showing on the monitor whenever the computer booted up. Since I got the secondary card back last month, I really haven't experienced much of that problem (fingers crossed).

As of yesterday, however (11/12/11), my computer doesn't boot up. It constantly blinks in a continuous cycle now. I've had this problem happen before in past, THREE times. Each time I figured it was the motherboard and I would RMA it. After each motherboard replacement, my PC would work for 2 or 3 months and it would happen again, a continuous blink cycle (sorry I can't be more descriptive), so I've literally had 3 motherboards since August of 2010.