PC loses cable connection to internet but wifi laptops ok.

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

mrschickens

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 24, 2012
Messages
13
I have an HP Desktop PC running Windows 7 home premium. It has an ethernet connection to my Huawei router. I have 2 other devices that connect wirelessly to the internet. The problem is that the desktop keeps losing the internet connection after running ok for a while. I run networking diagnostics but no problem is found - the network and sharing dialogue says I'm connected to the internet. The wifi devices are ok. I have to reboot to regain the internet connection. This has been happening for about a month, but was working fine until then. I even tried doing a system restore to an earlier date but it made no difference.

Please Santa help this damsel in distress.
 

etaf

Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,435
First Name
Wayne
would you post the following tests when the internet is working OK, and then repeat ALL the tests when the internet disconnects.
Make sure you also indicate on the reply which tests are for what condition.

What firewall / security suite or anti-virus do you currently have on the PC - or you have ever had on the PC in the past - any trial ware - like Norton, Mcafee , AVG , Webroot etc

------------------------------------------------------------------------
ipconfig /all
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - post back the results in a reply here.

This should also work for windows 8
Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box
(A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
to do that:
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
all the text will now be highlighted
Next
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
------------------------------------------------------------------------

------------------------------------------------------------------------
Ping Tests
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

Start> Run {search bar in Vista/W7}> type CMD to open a command prompt box
(A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

For Windows 8
to open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop. Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.

Type the following command
Ping {then a space and then add the number that is shown against the item labelled "default gateway" shown in the results from the ipconfig /all}
Post back the results in a reply here
right click in the command prompt box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

Type the following command
Ping google.com
Post back the results in a reply here
right click in the command prompt box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

Type the following command
Ping 209.183.226.152
Post back the results in a reply here
right click in the command prompt box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste
For your information only
these tests will check various stages of the connection, the first ping test, ping default gateway checks to see if you still have a connection to the router.
The next two Ping google.com & Ping 209.183.226.152 tests the connection to internet. google is to test by name and the ping test using a number is checking that a connection exists without DNS.
these tests then confirm if there is a dns issue on the connection.

------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

mrschickens

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 24, 2012
Messages
13
Hi Etaf


Thanks for your reply. Here are the results of the test:

BEFORE LOSING CONNECTION
Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : HPDesktop-PC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : 520b.com

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : 520b.com
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce 10/100 Mbps Ethernet
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 90-E6-BA-95-CC-4B
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::c95:5414:2ec3:8e2%17(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.2(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 03 January 2013 19:12:56
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 04 January 2013 19:12:56
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 227600058
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-12-B0-F1-F8-90-E6-BA-95-CC-4B
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Tunnel adapter isatap.520b.com:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : 520b.com
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::5efe:192.168.1.2%18(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:5ef5:79fd:241f:92ee:a3ed:eac3(Preferred)
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::241f:92ee:a3ed:eac3%11(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

C:\Users\Gilly>ping 192.168.1.1

Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=254
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=254
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=254
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=254

Ping statistics for 192.168.1.1:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

C:\Users\Gilly>ping google.com

Pinging google.com [173.194.34.142] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 173.194.34.142: bytes=32 time=38ms TTL=54
Reply from 173.194.34.142: bytes=32 time=37ms TTL=54
Reply from 173.194.34.142: bytes=32 time=37ms TTL=54
Reply from 173.194.34.142: bytes=32 time=37ms TTL=54

Ping statistics for 173.194.34.142:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 37ms, Maximum = 38ms, Average = 37ms

C:\Users\Gilly>ping 209.183.226.152

Pinging 209.183.226.152 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=113ms TTL=50
Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=113ms TTL=50
Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=113ms TTL=50
Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=113ms TTL=50

Ping statistics for 209.183.226.152:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 113ms, Maximum = 113ms, Average = 113ms

AFTER LOSING CONNECTION

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : HPDesktop-PC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : 520b.com

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : 520b.com
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce 10/100 Mbps Ethernet
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 90-E6-BA-95-CC-4B
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::c95:5414:2ec3:8e2%17(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.2(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 03 January 2013 22:04:17
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 04 January 2013 22:04:20
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 227600058
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-12-B0-F1-F8-90-E6-BA-95-CC-4B
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Tunnel adapter isatap.520b.com:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : 520b.com
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::5efe:192.168.1.2%18(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:5ef5:79fb:c90:ae13:a3ed:eac3(Preferred)
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::c90:ae13:a3ed:eac3%11(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

C:\Users\Gilly>ping 192.168.1.1

Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=254
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=254
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=254
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=254

Ping statistics for 192.168.1.1:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

C:\Users\Gilly>ping google.com

Pinging google.com [173.194.34.142] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 173.194.34.142: bytes=32 time=38ms TTL=54
Reply from 173.194.34.142: bytes=32 time=37ms TTL=54
Reply from 173.194.34.142: bytes=32 time=37ms TTL=54
Reply from 173.194.34.142: bytes=32 time=37ms TTL=54

Ping statistics for 173.194.34.142:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 37ms, Maximum = 38ms, Average = 37ms

C:\Users\Gilly>ping 209.183.226.152

Pinging 209.183.226.152 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=113ms TTL=50
Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=113ms TTL=50
Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=113ms TTL=50
Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=113ms TTL=50

Ping statistics for 209.183.226.152:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 113ms, Maximum = 113ms, Average = 113ms

SOFTWARE
I'm using Windows Security Essentials and Windows Firewall. Norton was on the machine when I bought it but I've uninstalled it. I've never been able to successfully install Windows 7 Service Pack 1 despite many attempts.

Hope you can help.
 

etaf

Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,435
First Name
Wayne
those results show a good connection to the internet - so you do not seem to be losing connection

Norton was on the machine when I bought it but I've uninstalled it
did you use the removal tool - if not try that now
--------------------------------------------------------------

Norton Removal Tool
I would recommend that you restart the PC and run the removal tool for a second time - I have found instances where the removal tool needs to be run twice to fully remove all traces of norton and symantec from the PC
https://www-secure.symantec.com/nor...t=Norton Core&pvid=f-core-cur&version=current

All Versions - The Norton Removal Tool uninstalls all Norton 2010/2009/2008/2007/2006/2005/2004/2003 products, Norton 360 and Norton SystemWorks 12.0 from your computer.
http://majorgeeks.com/Norton_Removal_Tool_SymNRT_d4749.html

--------------------------------------------------------------

I've never been able to successfully install Windows 7 Service Pack 1 despite many attempts.
what happens ?
 

mrschickens

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 24, 2012
Messages
13
Hi, I've done that - rerun the removal tool and rebooted. All ok for a while and then suddenly again I get 'Error 104 (net::ERR_CONNECTION_FAILED): The attempt to connect to the server failed' . This is using Chrome. With IE I get 'Internet Explorer cannot display the web page.'

I re did then Ping test and it was successful again I.e it found Google.
 

etaf

Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,435
First Name
Wayne
if you got to internet settings
go to Internet Explorer
>tools
>internet options
>connections
>LAN settings
whats set ?
try check the auto detect settings
 

etaf

Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,435
First Name
Wayne
and nothing in the proxy settings ?
 

etaf

Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,435
First Name
Wayne
when you lose the connection can you do the three ping tests - if they all reply then you are connected to the internet and something is blocking access
as we have now removed all the firewalls/security suite - correct

i think we now need to install the driver for the NVIDIA nForce 10/100 Mbps Ethernet from the HP support website for that model

if you have a problem finding the driver - post the exact model of the PC
 

mrschickens

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 24, 2012
Messages
13
I installed: NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller Driver Update from the HP website. Is this the right thing?

Everything seemed ok for a while and then I got the error message - website unobtainable - and had to reboot.

I ran all 3 ping tests afterwards and all were ok.
I do still have Windows Firewall and Microsoft Security Essentials.
 

etaf

Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,435
First Name
Wayne
I installed: NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller Driver Update from the HP website. Is this the right thing?
yes

the ping tests say you are connected - so something is blocking the webpages - you run before the reboot and while the webpage did not work - correct

how often is it disconnecting , if frequently - try this and see if that works OK

------------------------------------------------------------------------

Safemode with networking
with a cable connected from PC to router
check the cable - see if there is a light on the router associated with the cable port used , also check if you have a green/yellow light on the PC LAN port
- try safemode with networking
as the PC starts keep tapping F8 - a menu appears - choose
safemode with networking - see if that works


try a tcp/ip reset - see below

------------------------------------------------------------------------

Uninstall and allow windows to re-install the adapter and Driver
goto the device manager > Network Adapters > click on the [+] to show all the adapters

right click on the adapter and from the menu

remove/uninstall the adapter

Now restart the pc and allow windows to detect new hardware and re install the adapter and the driver
------------------------------------------------------------------------

it maybe a virus or malware on the PC

------------------------------------------------------------------------

TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista/Windows 7

Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box
(A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on the screen ):

In the command prompt window that opens, type the following commands:

Note: Type only the text in bold and red for the following commands.

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog and press enter

Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log and press enter

Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log and press enter

ReStart (reboot) the machine.

If you receive the message
The requested operation requires elevation.
Then please open the command prompt as administrator - as requested above
Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box
(A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

Please note and post back - if you receive the following message :-
Access is Denied

please post back the results in a reply here - its important we know that these commands have worked correctly and not produced any errors
right click in the command prompt box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

Details also here
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/299357


------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

mrschickens

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 24, 2012
Messages
13
Ok. I've reinstalled the Network Adapter and Driver, and I also did the TCP/IP stack repair but neither made a difference.
I also re-ran Spybot to check for malware and couldn't find anything.
So this evening I've been working in Safe Mode and yippee I've remained connected all the time (longer than I would have done normally). So what does that mean now?
(I do so appreciate the help you're giving me:)
 

etaf

Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,435
First Name
Wayne
So this evening I've been working in Safe Mode and yippee I've remained connected all the time (longer than I would have done normally). So what does that mean now?
something on the PC is causing the issue when running normally

so we need to see what is starting up with the PC in normal mode and what maybe is causing the issue

lets start with this- in normal mode
------------------------------------------------------------------------
StartUp Utility

Post back a screen shot from the "Whats in Start Up" utility

Download the utility from here http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/what_run_in_startup.html

The download link is at the bottom of the page labelled, "Download WhatInStartup"
Direct link to the program is here http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/whatinstartup.zip

This utility will run standalone - so will not be installed on the PC

unzip the downloaded file and double click on the file named:- WhatsInStartUp.exe

a screen appears with a list of all the programs
Do Not change or disable anything

If the screen is not maximised then click on the small square box in the Top right hand corner - next to a - and a X

in a reply please post a screen shot

To post a screen shot of the active window.
1) hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
OR
2) if you are using Vista/Windows 7 you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool

To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
Full details are available here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot
------------------------------------------------------------------------
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top