1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

PC monitor keeps switching off

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Chippychap, Feb 4, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Chippychap

    Chippychap Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    I have just replaced my PC.
    As my new baby is a reasonably good system I now use a DVI cable but still using original Monitor.
    In an attempt to sell the old beastie I listed it on fleabay and it sold.
    To demonstrate it I put it back on the desk and plugged it back into the monitor to allow me to show the buyer. I even used the DVI cable to connect it.
    Everything was tickety-boo when the monitor clicked and turned off, thinking it was a restart caused by some updates I waited; The PC kept on chuntering but no picture.
    After a restart it now does this after a minute or so, again with the click that a monitor always makes when turning off.
    I know the cable is OK as it works fine on new PC, monitor is fine with new PC. OLD PC was fine with no problems for three years until it knew I was selling it.:D
    Wondered if moving it on and off the desk onto the floor has disturbed something. Have removed and refitted the graphics card to check it is seated properly to no avail.
    Will next try using the onboard graphics to by-pass video card.
    Any idea guys?
     
  2. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
    check all the plugs and cards are seated

    try the onboard video

    what are you running
    video card brand and model
    cpu
    m/board
    ram
    power supply
    brand
    model
    wattage

    check the listings in the bios for 12v line voltages and cpu temperatures and post them
     
  3. Chippychap

    Chippychap Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    4
  4. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
    please post the details in the thread not offsite and incomplete

    what are you running
    video card brand and model
    cpu
    m/board
    ram
    power supply
    brand
    model
    wattage

    check the listings in the bios for 12v line voltages and cpu temperatures and post them
    __________________
     
  5. Chippychap

    Chippychap Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    TBH Dai, as I explained in my last post I am unable at present to find out the details on a PC which does not work.
    Thanks for trying but I will just stumble on.
     
  6. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
    take the side off and look at the psu label

    look at the m/board and the model information will be silkscreened on it

    it sounds like the psu is the problem

    check the ram is seated properly

    check all the plugs are secure by removing and replugging them in
     
  7. Chippychap

    Chippychap Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Thank you I will do that
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1088112

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice