1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

PC (new build) not booting to bios on monitor

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by boothegreat, Apr 25, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. boothegreat

    boothegreat Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    https://pcpartpicker.com/list/jqjKjy - list of components

    When computer turns on, nothing pops up on the monitor so I can boot into the bios. The computer starts with fans running fine, no error beep. Lights are on on the motherboard. I have tried...

    -Made sure CPU was seated correctly
    -Changed out the sticks of memory (tried each in the first slot)
    -Tried 2 different graphics cards

    -Made sure monitor was on correct display
    -Tried display port directly into monitor (with graphics cards out)
    -Tried another monitor
    -Tried changing out the memory sticks in every slot

    Any help would be appreciated!

    https://imgur.com/o39Un9Q (24 pin seems fine, I assume the CPU can go in either 8 pin? GPU and sata doesn't matter at this time.

    https://imgur.com/zNqdogQ pins seem fine

    https://imgur.com/ZKnCUpG appears to be mounted okay

    https://imgur.com/Or88WVc overall view, motherboard lights are on, fans are running. Can get better picture if need be.
     
  2. Oddba11

    Oddba11

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7,473
    First Name:
    Jim
    Not completing POST...which would indicate a hardware issue. Something not connected, not connected properly, or faulty.

    The only thing that catches my eye is the RAM. It's a dual channel board, so you should be running two sticks. You can actually use a single stick, but it should be in slot A2 (second from the left) as noted in the User Manual (p27)
     
  3. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,594
    Your link for partpicker is down. Post ALL of your exact system specs. Do not post "500W pw supply" Post the exact brand and model# Do that for ALL of your parts.
    Next have you read the guide at the top of the forum for problem builds? If not, do so. If you follow ALL of the steps, you will find the cause of your no POST condition.

    Common errors for new builders;
    1 Motherboard shorting to case due to incorrect placement of standoffs
    2 4/8/12pin aux pw connector not plugged in
    3 Damaged cpu socket/pins trying to install
    4 Parts not compatible
     
  4. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    11,400
    First Name:
    Allan
    I just tried the partpicker link and it worked ok.
     
  5. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,594
    Yep, working now. When I tried before, the site said down for mx.
     
  6. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,594
    Looks like a decent selection of parts. While I am no fan of msi boards, your parts are compatible. Read and follow all steps of the guide and you will find the cause of your issue.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1226273

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice