PC not booting - hardware failure

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
24,184
If the whole circuitry including the ring mains - normal socket outlets are protected RCD then if there was a voltage leak to earth or any imbalance detected between live and neutral it would trip - but that is on a MAINS voltage - defect - not something internally on the 12 volt etc internal PC wiring

Try another socket outlet
If the computer is connected to some extension bar - try another extension bar or connect the computer direct to the AC outlet amd run with just that. As the monitor will also require power connect that uisng just a two way extension rather than a plug to lead - 4/5 or whatever extnesion bar.

I do not know of course what manner of shock you got, but examine carefully if any unused psu leads are in such a place as to touch the metal case of the computer. For example a molex connector can lodge against the corner edge of a hard drive tray and be passing voltage to the case.
I doubt it is that but it is worth a check

If all that fails, it seems to me you are back to what we said originally - try another PSU
 

moozer

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 3, 2005
Messages
796
@Macboatmaster

I figured as much regarding tripping. Checking PC on kitchen circuit. PC always uses direct mains outlet. However, PC wouldn't display. On now. Will keep on and check
 

moozer

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 3, 2005
Messages
796
Left on separate circuit all night. No restarts. Repositioned any unused cables from PSU. Back on original circuit, but untested as yet. Changed mains outlet though. Will check later tonight after PC has been used for the evening
 

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
24,184
Well it is really too early to say, with the one random reboot - was it definitely a random one or could it have been a RESTART following updates.
After some updates as you may know you get a message saying restart is necessary to complete updates computer will restart in - so many minutes etc.
and then you can choose restart now or do not restart I will choose.

If it is solved I suggest you get that electrical circuit checked
It is not appropriate IMHO for me to offer advice as to how to do this.
Checking mains electrical circuits is a RISKY job if you do not know what you are doing.
You can buy a plug in circuit tester
They are not 100% reliable but are safe too use
Further testing must be left to a specialist.
 

moozer

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 3, 2005
Messages
796
It was a random reboot as identified by event ID 41. System is fully up-to-date via Windows update. A family member is bringing me a "backup" PC hopefully this week. If I can test the PSU on my rig, great.

Thanks for the extra help and advice
 

moozer

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 3, 2005
Messages
796
@Macboatmaster

Hi. Didn't manage to get the spare PC (lockdown preventing several things as you know).

I thought I'd do a little experiment.

I have an old graphics card, so I popped that in the rig. Uninstalled APU driver. Installed old driver software for card.

Random reboots literally every 10 minutes.

I think that it's the motherboard at fault and the centre of all these issues - the GPU card is not a power hog (low profile, but with fan and no extra power cables needed).

Would I be right in assuming the MoBo? Or...could it actually be driver software? Maybe I could use ASRock's legacy GPU driver?

Let me know what you think
 

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
24,184
As I said when you ran Linux in ram and as my colleague has said previosuly
It is unlikely to be a driver issue, due to it crahsing in Linux as well
Plus which the random reboots tend to go back to the original suggestion = PSU, CPU or motherboard.
Personally I do not think you will solve this until you try these parts
Your first step is most certainly another PSU - however not to buy one, in case of course it is not the PSU, you need to borrow one if possible OR
take your PSU to the local computer shop - not one of the giant multiples - and for a few £s or whatever your local currency is they should be able to test that PSU either on a proper PSU tester, or in their test computer
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top