PC not booting up properly

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Rocky_91

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 22, 2007
Messages
10
okay. well i know absolutley *nothing* about computers. :confused:
but. my computer isnt booting up propery. i think thats the right word. when it loads when you turn it on? well it doesnt do that.
i turn it on, and the screen is blak. nothing happens. i wait a few minutes, press the reset button, and *sometimes* the monitor button turns green, like its trying to boot-up, but then goes back to orange. i do this several times, sometimes it works, and stays green and boots up. but some nights im there for seven hours trying to turn it on to finnish coursework. and i think i need to try and fix it. :mad:
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2003
Messages
10,254
That is usually a sign of a failing Power Supply . . What brand and model is the pc?
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2005
Messages
65
It could be anything from a bad switch to a bad motherboard. We need more information. Perhaps the last time it was running correctly, any installations between then and now. Anything that may be of some use to us. Also, what is happening when you hit the power button? Fans? Disks spinning? Cd drive spinning up? lights blink on keyboard, mouse or monitor?
 

Rocky_91

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 22, 2007
Messages
10
Fankle: Well it's running now, but it wasnt yesturday. sometimes it works in five minutes, sometimes twenty minutes, but if it takes longer than that then its usually not going to work that day. sometimes i turn it on in the morning and don't hit reset till afternoon, although it doesnt work any better than if i reset five minutes after turning on.
also, when i turn it on. fan goes, the disk drives open, when i press the button, and there are lights on the actuall computer bit that turn on.
 

Rocky_91

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 22, 2007
Messages
10
it says Novatech.

i was looking in the controll pannel...
"System
Microsoft Windows XP
Home Edition
Version 2002
Service Pack 2

AMD Anthlon(tm) XP 1800+
1.53 GHz, 640 MB of RAm" does this help at all?
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2003
Messages
10,254
It helps some . . still no indication of the Power Supply . . you can take the side off and look at the label on it . . or take it to a shop and ask them to test it . . should not cost much to test
 
Joined
Jan 22, 2007
Messages
30
Wait, try going to the properties:
Code:
- goto desktop
- right-click
- properties
- and... goto screen saver
I remember it saying stuff about power supply or something.
But I think it's for when it should turn the monitor off...

I'd try it but i'm at the library, because my computers hard drive wont work.
 

Rocky_91

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 22, 2007
Messages
10
is the Uninterruptible Power Supply useful to you?
oh, and i asked my brother what the computer was. he sed amd athlon xp 1800. and the power supply is 300W. he does computer science at university, but when he came back during xmas, he didnt know what was wrong with the computer.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top