1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

PC not reading installed RAM

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by talpha1, Sep 21, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. talpha1

    talpha1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    75
    Hi everyone,

    I just installed new RAM on my PC. I purchased 512 MB, PC2100 RAM. When I look in AIDA, though, it still only reads my 256 MB. It lists the 512 under SPD instead of memory. What does this mean and how can I get the PC to pick up my new RAM? Can anyone help me with this?

    Thanks,
    Tami
     
  2. norton850

    norton850

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    7,794
    What is the amount of RAM shown when you boot up and/or in BIOS?
     
  3. Skivvywaver

    Skivvywaver

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2001
    Messages:
    13,951
    Also what OS are you running?
     
  4. talpha1

    talpha1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    75
    I am running Windows XP with all the most recent updates, including SP2. I can't tell what it says when the PC boots up because the screen flashes so quickly.
     
  5. Skivvywaver

    Skivvywaver

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2001
    Messages:
    13,951
    Hit pause break on the top right of your keyboard when you get to post. That'll make it readable. It will stop in its tracks. After you've read it hit another key.
     
  6. talpha1

    talpha1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    75
    Thanks. I did that and I went into CMOS to view it also. The screen says:
    Extended Mem: 261120K
    Cache Mem: 256K

    CMOS says: Base Mem: 640K
    Extended Mem: 261120K
    Total Mem: 262144K

    Any ideas??
     
  7. Skivvywaver

    Skivvywaver

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2001
    Messages:
    13,951
    Yeah it isn't being picked up in the bios. Might be a bad stick.:confused:
    Try taking the known good stick out and putting the new stick in and see if you get a boot. If not bad ram.
     
  8. talpha1

    talpha1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    75
    Thanks. I just did that and it just beeps with only the new stick of RAM. I will be sending an email to the company I purchased it from.

    Thanks again for the help!
     
  9. Skivvywaver

    Skivvywaver

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2001
    Messages:
    13,951
    Yep, sounds like a bad stick. Did you try switching slots to make sure it isn't a bad slot? I would try that before I gave the company hell.:)
     
  10. talpha1

    talpha1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    75
    I tried just the 512 chip in the first slot (the one that had my 256 chip in it). It did not detect at all and the computer would not even boot. So, I put it in the second slot again, with the 256 in the first. When I did that, the computer booted up and I checked again in AIDA32. AIDA32 did not read anything in slot 2, but when I looked under the SPD, that part of the 512 chip was working and detected. I double and triple checked the book for my motherboard (VIA P4XB-S) and I definately bought the right RAM and it does support up to 1 GHz, so the 512 stick should work. I know it happens, but I feel like I am missing something and the RAM might not be bad. It was supposedly tested prior to being sent to me. Any other suggestions? Could it be a BIOS problem? The latest BIOS for my board was dated 5/29/02 and that is the one I am running. AIDA32 indicates that I should update that, but I am not sure with what or if that would even make a difference in the RAM issue. I am really frustrated. The computer is taxed with only 256 in RAM and when I check, it is usually using between 80-100% of the RAM. The other day, it increased my virtual memory.
     
  11. Skivvywaver

    Skivvywaver

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2001
    Messages:
    13,951
    I don't think it is a bios problem. I think you got a bad stick. A bios flash is about 95% successful. I don't like the odds. You could kill your board which is supposed to support 1 gig now. Read what the bios update is supposed to fix. If ram isn't mentioned don't do it.
     
  12. talpha1

    talpha1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    75
    OK. Now I got a blue screen. The second stick is still in. I had just gone into CMOS and disabled the AutoDetect DIMM/PCI Clk. The error code is as follows:

    BCCode : 1000000a BCP1 : 80C25DFF BCP2 : 00000002 BCP3 : 00000000
    BCP4 : 804E70FF OSVer : 5_1_2600 SP : 2_0 Product : 256_1

    I have gone back in and re-enabled the AutoDetect. Is that why I got the blue screen?
     
  13. talpha1

    talpha1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    75
    Can anyone think of anything I am not doing correctly or can change to make this work?
     
  14. talpha1

    talpha1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    75
    Maybe this will help? Here is the rundown on the old/current RAM, that works and the new RAM that is not "found":

    Old: Memory Module Properties
    Module Name Kingston KVR266X64C25/256
    Serial Number 220D1101h
    Module Size 256 MB (2 rows, 4 banks)
    Module Type Unbuffered
    Memory Type DDR SDRAM
    Memory Speed PC2100 (133 MHz)
    Module Width 64 bit
    Module Voltage SSTL 2.5
    Error Detection Method None
    Refresh Rate Normal (15.625 us), Self-Refresh
    Highest CAS Latency 2.5 (7.5 ns @ 133 MHz)
    2nd Highest CAS Latency 2.0 (10.0 ns @ 100 MHz)

    Memory Module Features
    Early RAS# Precharge Not Supported
    Auto-Precharge Not Supported
    Precharge All Not Supported
    Write1/Read Burst Not Supported
    Buffered Address/Control Inputs Not Supported
    Registered Address/Control Inputs Not Supported
    On-Card PLL (Clock) Not Supported
    Buffered DQMB Inputs Not Supported
    Registered DQMB Inputs Not Supported
    Differential Clock Input Supported
    Redundant Row Address Not Supported

    Memory Module Manufacturer
    Company Name Kingston Technology Company, Inc.
    Product Information http://www.kingston.com/products/default.asp

    New: Memory Module Properties
    Serial Number 344E4C31h
    Module Size 512 MB (1 rows, 4 banks)
    Module Type Unbuffered
    Memory Type DDR SDRAM
    Memory Speed PC2100 (133 MHz)
    Module Width 64 bit
    Module Voltage SSTL 2.5
    Error Detection Method None
    Refresh Rate Reduced (7.8 us), Self-Refresh
    Highest CAS Latency 2.5 (7.5 ns @ 133 MHz)
    2nd Highest CAS Latency 2.0 (10.0 ns @ 100 MHz)

    Memory Module Features
    Early RAS# Precharge Not Supported
    Auto-Precharge Not Supported
    Precharge All Not Supported
    Write1/Read Burst Not Supported
    Buffered Address/Control Inputs Not Supported
    Registered Address/Control Inputs Not Supported
    On-Card PLL (Clock) Not Supported
    Buffered DQMB Inputs Not Supported
    Registered DQMB Inputs Not Supported
    Differential Clock Input Supported
    Redundant Row Address Not Supported
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - reading installed
  1. Mrnotknowhow
    Replies:
    12
    Views:
    191
  2. Kalys
    Replies:
    11
    Views:
    268
  3. lousycomputerguy
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    155
  4. bxcfilm
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    176
  5. TehSamster
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    175
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/276534

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice